Chicopee Stripes: Finished

Right after returning from our anniversary trip to Mexico, I finished the Chicopee Stripes quilt top.  Now, a month later, as I’m returning to New Jersey from a wonderful Month in North Carolina, I have another finished quilt to reveal.  Now, we all know that Chicopee is my love addiction.  When I decided to make myself a quilt (to practice quilting, which didn’t happen before I made quilts for others, whoops) I knew it had to be made with Chicopee.  I wanted something easy to practice with a walking foot, so I bought a jelly roll and a charm pack.  Since, you know,  I couldn’t bear to cut into my fat quarter bundle or my half yard bundle.  I.have.an.addiction.to.chicopee.

This is the final quilt:

chicopee

chicopeestripes

And, just in case you wanted to see it again, here it is.

Because I am obsessed.

fields

Since I knew this was my chance to hoard my favorite fabrics forever in a healthy way, I decided to use my other favorite fabrics for the backing and binding.  You see, Chicopee is the fabric that first pulled me into quilting when I saw this Chicopee string quilt.  So, I decided to go all the way when hoarding my favorites for eternity and use two Anna Marie Horner prints that I have been obsessing over since this crazy journey started.

back

I can’t.  Of course the hubs likes the back better.  Again.

Also, I just realized the totem print is upside down.  Whoops.

And, to top it all off.  The binding is my all time life fabric.

Memoir in charcoal from the Michael Miller Madrona Road collection.

binding

bindingupclose

You can even see the lime green thread.  Perfection.  If you’d like to see more of the quilting you can check out this post here.

I am so proud to finally have this quilt done, and I can’t wait to unpack this quilt first when we return home and place it on the couch where it will forever hold a special place of honor.  I’m also going to link this quilt up to every Finished Friday party I can find.  Because.it.deserves.a.party.

Happy quilting!

25 thoughts on “Chicopee Stripes: Finished

  1. It’s beautiful! The AMH and the gorgeous stripes and the Memoir– I love mixing and matching collections.

    And I know it’s hard to leave NC, but we’ve missed you here in NJ!

  2. Yay chicopee. Your quilt looks awesome. Chicopee (DS in general), AMH and the Madrona Rd lines are what drew me into quilting too!

  3. Well I brought my party hat! Your quilt is so great, I wish I could see it in person and look at the back and binding and fabrics up close! It’s going to be so perfect in your living room–brightening and adding such a nice touch of cozy!

  4. I’m a fellow Chicopee devotee & I think your quilt is just gorgeous! Love everything about it & the quilting is the perfect tech, well done.

  5. Pingback: A Quilt is a Hug | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

  6. Pingback: Cheers to The Year I Started Quilting | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

