Friday Finish: Soul Baby

Woohoo!  I have been itching to make this quilt that I saw by Lindsey of LRStitched.  You can find the tutorial here – it’s so easy!  I was intimidated by the applique process, but now I’m so glad I jumped on board.   I’m getting ready to start another applique quilt because of how enjoyable this one was.  I’m pretty sure that this quilt will make it into rotation again the next time I need a baby quilt.  It’s also great to use of scraps… Chicopee quilt…. YES!

Image

I have been waiting to cute into my Soul Blossom for quite some time.  This seems like the perfect fit.  Now it’s game on, though, and I’m going for it!  There will be quite a few more Soul Blossom quilts popping up in the near future – I love this line.  (Why have I not won the lottery?  I just want to own all the fabrics – and lots of them!)

Image

I love the quilting on this quilt and how nicely it crinkled up!

Image

Doesn’t this just scream, “Baby GIRL!”?

Image

For the back, I chose to do a whole cloth back from the Soul Blossom line.

This print is amazing!

Image

For the binding, I chose a beautiful sky blue text print from Kate Spain’s Sunnyside line.

Image

Image

There you have it.  Soul Baby is finished!  I would highly recommend this pattern.  It would be stunning as a larger quilt, and now I’m tucking this away for all of my Chicopee scraps….  I’ve listed Soul Baby in my Etsy Shop!

Soul Baby

  • Fabric: Soul Blossom by Amy Butler; Kona Ash; Sunnyside by Kate Spain
  • Quilted on my Bernina 710
  • Finished Size: 34 inches x 42 inches
  • Machine bound
  • Machine washed/washable

Linking this up to all the Friday parties and the Precious QAL.

17 thoughts on “Friday Finish: Soul Baby

  1. What a great pattern for showing off your fave prints! The applique process makes this look like a really fun quilt to make, too. Gorgeous backing and binding choices, Ashley. Congrats on a beautiful finish!

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Quilt: Ashley Hinton of Wasn’t Quilt in a Day | Sew Mama Sew |

Comments make my day!

