Work in Progress Wednesday!

I have a feeling I’ll be having a lot of Work In Progress Wednesdays, before I have an actual finished quilt.  But, a girl can dream, right?  The other Work in Progress posts over at Freshly Pieced are so inspiring, you should go check them out.  Come on, you know you want to procrastinate!

Work In Progress Wednesday

I’ve made some progress on the Herringbone quilt.  This quilt makes me smile every time I see it on my design wall.

Image

I even started playing with the layout of this quilt, and while I like this, I’m not quite feeling it.

Image

I don’t like how the center of the diamonds are all different fabrics. See:

Image

Gross.

I wish I had planned them better, or had even used a white Jelly Roll, to off-set the zig-zag and give it some uniformity.  Next time, friends, next time.  And, yes, I’ve already decided to make another one of these – who wants a quilt?!

So, that’s my work in progress so far – but I can’t wait until it’s a work done.

I guess today I should piece these babies together …

       wip5

… Instead of getting sucked into The Bachelor like I did last night.  Whoops.

Happy Wednesday!

7 thoughts on “Work in Progress Wednesday!

  1. Oh that quilt is so pretty! I have always wanted to do one of those!!! is it hard? I always worry about laying out my ruler the right way 🙂
    thanks for sharing!

  2. Hey Leslie,

    Thank you so much! I was pleasantly surprised with how easily these blocks came together. You should definitely try it (but, I do recommend the jelly roll, because it makes it so much easier.) The ruler is the trickiest part – I literally sat there with Bijou Lovely’s tutorial on my quilting table as I cut. Haha. Your quilts are beautiful! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. This is turning out so pretty. Kate Spain can do no wrong in my eyes LOL! Cuzco inspired the colors for my lastest quilt.

    By the way, I love the name of your site. I feel the same way :). The husband wishes I would speed up though, he has lots of quilts on my to-do list!

    • Taryn, Thank you! I love your quilts – especially the quilt where the colors are contained inside the square, it’s so bright and colorful! Kate Spain is ahhhh-mazing.

      My husband always asks if it’s done… hahaha.

  4. I’m stalking you a little tonight. 🙂 I got curious what your first few posts were like. It’s cracking me up that I made a quilt with this block too – my 2nd ever – and it is SO BAD. I’ll have to send you a pick sometime.

Comments make my day!

