You Don’t have to Tell Me Twice…

Image

Today is National Visit your Local Quilt Shop Day.

It’s almost like I planned it.  Tonight I’m heading to my favorite quilt shop, Rock Paper Scissors, for my first Modern Quilt Guild meeting.  To say I’m excited would be an understatement.  A serious understatement.  My husband’s been great and all – coming to look at my progress after each block, driving to every quilt store with me, and pretending to love all of my fabric selections.  However, a quilter he is not.  I’m excited to be in a room with people who love quilting, know more than me, and see what they have to share. 

Back to Rock, Paper, Scissors.  The cutest, local quilt store in Montclair, NJ.

If I’ve learned anything in this past month of quilting, it’s the importance of finding quality quilting stores.  The first experience I had here was less than pleasant.  If I hadn’t been so dead set on my goal to become a quilter I might have been too intimidated to go to other stores and find ones that were supportive of newbie quilters.  After visiting 10+ stores, I’ve found my favorite.

Rock Paper scissors has an awesome class list – with a great mixture of beginning and advanced classes.  From talking with one of the instructors the other day, I know that they’re supportive and love the excitement new quilters can bring.  I can’t wait to take classes, quilting and beyond!

Most importantly, they have fabric.  (You would think that’s a duh, and it is for a fabric store, but they have good fabric.)  When I walked in the first time, I thought to myself, “I could literally make a quilt with every collection in here!”  On top of having quality fabric, they have an awesome selection of beads and papers for basically any craft you can imagine.  Right now I think I should focus on just one craft style… (who am I kidding?!)

The store is bright and airy, very organized, friendly, and supportive

If you’re in the Northern Jersey area you should check it out.  Or when you come visit me, I’ll probably take you anyway.

Oh, and there is a Panera next door.  Which is where I’m eating tonight.  Heeeeeey.

And, because no blog post should be without a picture, I leave you with this:

Image

This is a painting done by Lenore DePree, one of my favorite artists.  It’s of a quilt group, but not just any quilt group, it’s my grandmother’s quilt group.  See the cute lady in the bottom left-hand corner talking?  That’s her.  I come by it honest.  So, tonight I head to my first quilt group meeting, and I hope to be chatting, too!

5 thoughts on “You Don’t have to Tell Me Twice…

  1. Is this what you were doing during guided reading and I thought you were being productive so I was on my computer on pinterest pinning cakes?

  2. Anne Marie, they were fabulous! I can’t wait to start the blocks for your BOM. I might be stretching the January block into February 🙂

Comments make my day!

