Work in Progress Wednesday!

Image

I’m so excited because today’s WiP Wednesday post is partially a Work Done post!  While it’s not quilted, the Herringbone quilt top is done and that counts in my book.  Amen?  Amen.

I made the Sew Can She deadline (for the Herringbone block challenge) last night 30 minutes before the cut-off for the competition.  I like to to live on the edge, people.  There were so many great entries for this challenge, and I certainly don’t expect to win, but I did win.  I have a quilt.  One of those “everybody is a winner” moments.  Those never really exist, but they do in the quilting world!

The Herringbone Quilt: By the Numbers

  • 30 blocks
  • 5 ft x 6 ft (unquilted)
  • 3 Jelly Rolls
  • 420 Strips of Cuzco by Kate Spain fabric
  • 11 Days
  • 14 x too many repeats of the Indigo Girls’ CD
  • 3 nights of dirty dishes on the counter

Without further ado, the Herringbone quilt top is done!

Image

Now I have quite a few bags of scrappy triangles to sew together for the back of this quilt from all of the extra cuts offs of each block…

Image

I got all sappy on Instagram last night finishing this quilt …

Image

Yep, I took a photo of the last seam.  Yes, I did do that…

So, what next?  Why my original first quilt, of course!  Now that the Herringbone quilt is done, the Love Lives Here quilt is back up on the design wall.

Image

Only 9 more blocks to go…

And, of course, I’ve started another project.  The Sister’s Ten Modern Block of the Month sew-along.  Supposedly I should have two blocks done by the end of January.  I’m thinking February 1st is just fine!

19 thoughts on “Work in Progress Wednesday!

    • thank you so much! it’s a great pattern from Freshly Pieced. I think it just came out and she has the link where you can buy it on her website.

  1. Your herringbone quilt is fantastic! I love everything that comes out of Kate Spain’s studio. Thanks for visiting my blog today. Your comment came through as a no-reply. I’m glad your blog link showed up.
    I’ve been procrastinating long enough. I’m supposed to be cleaning up my quilty mess. I still need to put away Christmas, too!

    • Hey Tina,

      I’m new to this whole blogging thing, and I don’t even know how to change the no-reply comment – so thanks for stopping by! I wish I could buy all of Kate Spain’s fabrics 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness it is absolutely gorgeous! Gotta love those last minute finishes! Love Lives Here is looking great too. You have gotten so much done this month!

    It’s pretty much impossible to not constantly be starting new projects. 😀 This is one addictive hobby!

    • It truly is addictive – my husband doesn’t understand how many collections of fabric I keep buying 🙂 Which is why I’m so thankful for the blog community! I can’t wait to see what February brings – and your next WiP post 🙂

  3. Hey Ashley – love your herringbone quilt! The colors are so rich! Thanks for the shoutout to my blog – I’m glad that you like it and thank you so much for the wonderful compliments 🙂 I wanted to reply directly to it, but you were listed as a no-reply blogger. If you wanted to change it, just google it and quite a few FAQs will show you how to fix it easily!

  4. Pingback: All-American Child Quitter | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

  5. Ashley, WOW! Your herringbone quilt is stunning! I love it. “Finishing” something is so bittersweet sometimes, isn’t it? That’s why you just have to start on something else! Keep wowing us with your creativity. Can’t wait to see what you make next. xo

    • Kate, thank you so much for your kind words. Your fabric is definitely inspiring, and now I’m onto planning a quilt to make with Honey Honey. Glad you stopped by!

  6. Pingback: Hey, Honey, Honey! | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

  7. Pingback: WiP Wednesday | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

  8. Pingback: A Whole New “Terrain” | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

