Learn from Your Mistakes

As a teacher I constantly tell my students to learn from their mistakes.  Not to give up.  To keep on trying.  Which still didn’t keep me from hitting my head when I made a big mistake on Sunday.

As a teacher I also tell my students to read the directions.  I mean, how hard can it be to read the directions?  It drives me insane when they don’t read the directions.  Which didn’t keep me from skipping the directions on Sunday.

There I was with all of the pieces left for the remaining 8 blocks of my Love Lives Here quilt cut and ready to piece.  I knew I needed to make all of the flying geese first because the blocks would come together faster.  Each block requires 8 flying geese, which requires what seems like 1 million little squares.

I also teach my students to use hyperbole in their writing.  At least I practice one thing I preach.

So, after piecing all of the flying geese, and ignoring a faint notion to check with my pattern because I had already made 5 million of them before… I had them cut and ready to iron…

ImageSee, at least a million:

Image

And then, I opened one.

And realized it was FAR from perfect.

An ugly ducking, not a flying goose.

Image

All because I didn’t read the directions.

Honestly, who doesn’t read directions?!

Image

So, now I’m back to cutting.

Image

In short, like I always tell my students: Read the directions.

Oh, and check your work as you go.

Pretty sure I tell them that, too.

8 thoughts on “Learn from Your Mistakes

  1. So what have you decided to do with the ducklings? You never know, they may turn into beautiful swans with a little time and care!!

  2. I’m hoping I can make them into smaller half-square triangles and then some scrappy stars, maybe? thanks for stopping by, Cara Lynn and for your encouraging words!!!

    • Lorna, I love this – we quilt on! Oh, yes, definitely the right attitude. They’re actually perfect little 1.5 inch half-square triangles. Hope I can turn them into something fun 🙂

  3. Pingback: WiP Wednesday | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

  4. Pingback: Behind the Seams | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

  5. I have learned this the hard way too! Not too much chain sewing without checking what is happening:) I teach beginners some times and I laugh a little when they freak out over a mistake. I have yet to complete one project without at least one thing having to be ripped and resewn! I am gonna throw a party when that happens.

  6. Pingback: Sew-Mo-Jo | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

