Weekend Treat

I’m so excited with the progress I’ve made on the projects I have going on right now.  This whole quilting thing is perfect for my need to be doing 20 things at once.  I love having multiple projects and there is always inspiration to be found.  It makes me so happy.

This Saturday my school made up some time we had missed from Hurricane Sandy.  Now, any teacher who goes into school for a sixth day in a row, deserves either an extra jewel for his or her crown in heaven, or a trip to the fabric store.  I chose a trip to the fabric store.  After working on my granny squares I’ve realized that my stash is seriously lacking in some quality grays, oranges, purples, and navy blues.  While I have a few bundles sitting in my cart on Etsy, I headed over to my favorite local quilt shop, Rock Paper Scissors, to bulk up my stash.

photo 2

Don’t be too jealous, but my awesome hubs helped me pick out quite a few fabrics, single-handedly found all of the purples and… OK, and then he did head to the car while they were being cut.  I can’t expect too much from the man.  Admittedly, this was a lonnnnggggg trip.  However, I do have much to show for it!

photo 3

Now I have a fresh stack of beautiful fabrics sitting in my craft room ready to be cut.  The only problem is that now I don’t want to cut them.  I just want to stare at them.  Is this feeling ever going to go away?

photo 1

How can I cut this?

So, after the trip to the store, the husband was pooped and I was energized.  While he napped, I had a good two hours to baste my first quilt, on his open office floor!  Now, good thing it’s a baby quilt because I don’t know what I’m going to do with my larger quilts.  Where do you guys baste these monsters?!    The baby quilt was hard enough!

I followed all the steps.  Taping my backing fabric to the floor – but not stretching it:

(and, yes, I even ironed it!)

photo 1 (3)

Carefully laying the batting and the quilt top over the backing and smoothing all the layers:

photo 2 (3)

Using the curved safety pins, not regular straight one, because that would be crazy:

photo 3 (3)

Spending too much time on my knees, going round and round:

photo 4

Until it looked like this:

photo 2 (2)

The whole time I was completely paranoid that I hadn’t gotten the bottom layer.  But I did!  Woohoo!

Now it’s rolled up and hanging out in the craft room:

photo 3 (2)

And I’m busy making color combinations for my Granny Squares.

I hope to work up the courage to quilt this baby soon.  I’ve watched many a video, talked to others, and read books.  And I’m still nervous to actually start. What color thread should I use for the quilting?  Do I need to start an initial line in the center?  Or can I start off of one of the edges?  I’m planning on quilting it in straight lines a 1/4 inch from each seam to create squares inside of the squares.  Or maybe I just need to find a class… help?!

I’ve also made all of my flying geese (after last weekends mishap) and am pushing through with the Love Lives Here quilt.  I think I’m stretching this one out since it was my original project.  The final stretch is proving the be the hardest.  I’ve also made 12 Granny Blocks … F.A.D.D. (fabric.attention.deficit.disorder) strikes again!

Happy Sunday and Happy Quilting, friends!

I’m linking up with Plum and June!

linkupbutton2

23 thoughts on “Weekend Treat

  1. Looks fantastic! I don’t really have any help to offer, but its already beautiful so you’re off to a great start! I can’t wait to see it all finished!

  2. okay i don’t know the answers to any of your questions, but are you telling me our grandmother got down on the floor to do these things????? also i love this baby quilt so much!!!!

    • I think so, which is crazy. The whole time I was thinking of her! She could have done something with her quilt shop though, and probably did for the later ones!

  3. You can do it! If you’re doing straight lines, just use a walking foot and go for it. Start in the middle in case some bubbles happen or the fabric shifts, but it looks like you basted well.

    • Thanks, Melanie! Hopefully I can take the plunge this weekend. I think I need to get a walking foot, I don’t think my machine came with one…

  4. The quilt is lovely, and I’m very jealous of your new fabrics! My hallway has a wooden floor but I can only just baste cot sized quilts there, i’m hoping to persuade my husband to redecorate our dining room and put wooden floor in there too! :o)

    • Oh, yes, Karen! I can’t wait until I have a house with a dining room. Or a huge room over the garage that I can keep to myself 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and for your sweet words!

  5. sooo i’m a rookie too, but my friend who taught me how to quilt recommends starting from an edge (rather than the center). i still haven’t tried stippling yet (eeee!) but i think the rest isn’t bad! for squares…keep the needle in and turn the fabric to make a sharp corner (that might be a DUH for you but i was such a rookie i learned the hard way haha). good luck!!

    • Becca, I’m so glad you understand – and I’m glad you commented. By the way, on of my favorite stores is in the middle of my town and Philly. So, you know what that means… just saying. I don’t know why this is so hard for me to visualize! How did you quilt that adorable one you made?

  6. I am sew excited for you, Ashley! About the new fabric and your first quilting event! You did a super job basting. I can tell you how I baste a quilt… by using a quilting frame. I hate to clean the floors at my house and I would need help getting back up! My knees would be killing me! Get four lengths of wood – 1 1/2″ x 1/2″ about 8′ long. You can also get a couple that are shorter for smaller quilt widths. Traditionally they would use ‘C’ Clamps to hold the corners of the wood strips together in a rectangle shape, but I use screws to hold them. Set the frame up on a few chair backs. Now you use thumb tacks to hold your quilt back to the frame. Then spread out the batting and quilt top on. And can now pin baste from a standing position. The only thing is, it can be a long reach to baste the center of a large quilt. Other people buy those folding tables and clamp the backing to the table. Email me if you would like some pictures to show my quilt frame in action and give you a better idea of how I set it up and square it. Not a granny square, either! LOL!

    • Lorna, that’d be great! Especially for this summer when my mom and I are planning on quilting some of the larger ones 🙂 I don’t think I can get them done in the office, haha. Thanks for the kind words about my basting job, I tried really hard to follow all the steps.

  7. Your quilt is gorgeous and I laughed when I read your questions because I just (minutes ago) posted about my quilt top and asked similar questions (also in bold). I think I go with a variegated thread when I don’t know what color to use. I was taught to start on a center edge but other people know better than me I am sure.

    • I love that I’m not the only one – makes me feel better! Christine, I think I feel more comfortable starting on a center edge, so hopefully that works 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Oh man am I jealous of all that beautiful fabric!! My husband loves to help with fabric stuff, but yeah after maybe 20-30 minutes at a store he’s done! Your baby quilt is very cute, I have a few of those fabrics in my stash that I can’t wait to (eventually) use. I usually start my quilting near the center and go towards and edge, to avoid wrinkles, etc. I started off quilting with a beige fabric (or grey), but am starting to branch out to other colors. I used to baste of the brick floors downstairs, but found that it turns out better if I baste on the carpet in the quilting/play room. I use pins to stretch out the backing (sticking them into the carpet).

    • Renee, I would have never thought of pinning the backing to the carpet! That is such a good idea and will really help when I get to my larger quilts! Thanks for you instructions as well – I think I just need to take the plunge 🙂

      • Sorry for all the typos above! Trying to type with kids on your lap = typos. It should say “with beige THREAD” not fabric. I started with the cheap stuff and have started buying better, more expensive threads. My machine seems happier about it! Hope your quilting goes smoothly!

      • Oh my, don’t apologize about the typos. I just reread my comment and I have them too! I think I’m going to go with a neutral, and you’re right, I need to pick up some quality thread. I’ve put all this work in, right?! 🙂

Comments make my day!

