Let’s Get Acquainted Link Up!

How is the weekend over already?  Thank, God, for a linky party.  This weekend flew by.  Basically because I slept it away.  I slept until 1:30 on Saturday AND Sunday.  I guess shaking my students’ hands every morning has finally caught up to me!

Even though I slept away the weekend, I was able to make some progress on the granny quilt.  I’m making this quilt for my baby cousin who will be turning two this summer.  As I’m making the quilt, I’m trying to put in little pieces that will remind her of her family members as she uses it.  I know that growing up my mom had a simple 9-patch quilt that she had made with her mother.  I used to love looking at all of the squares and hearing where they had come from.  I’m hoping that she gets the same joy from this quilt as well!

I’ve made 8 of 20 blocks so far:

Image

I’ve also planned the next four blocks.  I have got to cut into the orange and purple fabrics I’ve bought.  But there is something so final about cutting into beautiful, whole, pieces of fabric.  Of course, I know this will really add to the quilt.  A sweet friend said, “I love your colors.”  This makes me smile, because it’s not hard to pick pretty colors when you just use all of them!  This is my kind of quilt.  Girly. Color. Explosion.

This block is to remind her of our Pappaw.

He’s obsessed with hummingbirds and I almost died when I saw this fabric:

Image

I think this one is still my favorite…

Image

Basically any of the flowers, in all of the blocks, are in honor of our Mammaw.  You should see her garden.  I’ve found ladybugs for her aunt, an anchor for her uncle, and a little girl reading for her cousins.  I hope she’ll have fun finding all of the little squares!

I hope to get more done this week, but if it doesn’t happen it’s because I’m having too much fun hosting these people:

Image

This week is looking up already!

Linking up with Plum and June’s linky party, hosted by Owen’s Olivia!

linkupbutton2

and with Anything Goes by Stitch by Stitch!

anythinggoes

12 thoughts on “Let’s Get Acquainted Link Up!

  1. I love your granny squares, and I love that some of the squares have special meanings. I’m a girly-colors kind of lady as well, so I think the color palette is fantastic!

  2. Oh my gosh I love your granny squares!! My favorite part of quilting is piecing because then all of the stories behind the fabrics come together! I’m working on a quilt for my niece right now & I’m going to write her a little book to go with it so she knows the significance behind each block!! I love your quilt – your baby cousin is so lucky!

    • Thank you for sharing such a GREAT idea! I love the idea of a book. I will definitely have to write her a letter to go with this quilt, especially since she’ll need it when she gets older 🙂

  3. Love your blocks! So pretty:)

    Response to your comment on my blog: No way! That’s too many coincidences to ignore 😉 I can’t email you back b/c you are a no reply blogger – please send me an email! . Let’s do an HP craft swap sometime 😉 🙂 for our classrooms! Lol. What grade do you teach? I’m 6th grade social studies (maternity leave right now). I just subscribed to your blog- I don’t mean to sound creepy but I’m looking forward to having a new bloggy friend :)!

    Also since you live in NJ, are you part of a modern quilt guild yet? If not, you should TOTALLY join one! There are 4 just in NJ. I’m the VP of the Central Jersey MQG (you might have seen it on my blog already) but if you’re within an hour or so we’d love for you to come (actually our March meeting tomorrow and we have a color class coming up!) Let me know if you are interested 🙂

  4. Your blocks look great! I love the stories between each of the fabrics you chose. It will be such a great gift to your cousin!

    I know exactly how you feel about cutting into a beautiful, whole piece of fabric. I have a special portion of my shelf dedicated to fabrics that I am not ready to cut yet LOL!

Comments make my day!

