WiP Wednesday

Just yesterday my little sister said, “Oh, you’re doing that on WIP Wednesday?”  I love that she knows that Wednesday is no longer just Wednesday.  It’s WiP Wednesday!

Image

So, welcome little sister (who just ran her first 5k!), and all other WiP Wednesday friends.

This week has been a little crazy.  Your calendar might say it’s March, but New Jersey did not get the memo.  Does this look like the week before Spring Break to you? I think not!

Image

Speaking of things that aren’t as they seem…

Image

I just can’t get over how much I love my job.

While I might not hurt a fly, I almost broke my ironing board this week.

Image

Who knew they were so hard to open?

And, finally, something that is what it seems!

Image

Do you see that the seams line up?

HALLELUJAH!

This week, I’ve made quite a bit of progress of the Granny Squares quilt (for me!).  Hopefully enough to get the top pieced together this weekend.  In the beginning I know I called this quilt Girly Explosion, and then Estrogen, but now I’m leaning towards: Everything but the Kitchen Sink.  Surely little bitty cousin will like some of the fabrics I’ve chosen, right?

Image

Now that 16/20 blocks are done, I can’t decide if I should make it 24 blocks total… Also, I need some purple.  I need a lot of purple.  And some red.  How did I leave out my two favorite colors?

This isn’t the final layout, but it sure does make me happy when I walk into the craft room!

Here are a few of my favorites from this week:

Image

Image

Image

Hey, little sister, do you see all that Carolina blue I used for you?

Thanks for stopping by, and Happy WiP Wednesday to ya!

25 thoughts on “WiP Wednesday

  1. Very pretty and springy! It’s not feeling very springy in Ohio either. I don’t think Mother Nature got the memo that spring started today.

  2. Lovin’ the new blocks Ashley! You’ve done such a creative job with choosing the fabrics and cutting the center blocks to show off the fabric patterns. Congrats on the seams and sending warm thoughts from NC!!

  3. Cold and Windy here ( western Pa )

    I made a few granny squares awhile back: just for a little table runner. I loved it and want to do something larger down the line. Yours look wonderful! 🙂

    • Thanks – glad to see you back in my reader 🙂 I hope you had a great trip! I think the centers were some of my favorite to pick out 🙂

  4. I love how you combined your passion for quilting, your family, your teacher side and all the things I so love about you – kind of like an Ashley quilt…..hugs!

  5. The blocks are turning out wonderfully. I once named a quilt “leftover casserole” because it truly was like a sunday night dinner- bits of so many previous projects all thrown together.

  6. My current project is almost identical to your quilt! A granny-square quilt using Happy Tones, Ticklish, and Good Morning. It’s not looking very spring-y here in Canada, either.. must be why we chose such bright fabrics!

  7. Your blocks look great! So cheerful and pretty. Red and purple are my favorite colors too, but I don’t use them in quilting much (trying to change that though).

  8. Very cute granny squares! I love the mod-bright fabrics. Mine is vintage repro fabrics, and I see it every day, so it is super-fun to see a mod version. Massachusetts did not get the Spring Break memo either. At least it is spring at my sewing machine.

Comments make my day!

