…and then I turned 28.

Remember all the, “Where do you see yourself in 10 years?” surveys and questions you filled out as a senior in high school?

  1. Living in NC
  2. College Graduate
  3. Preacher
  4. Home Owner
  5. Married
  6. At least 2 children
  7. At least two golden retrievers

That was as far as I got…but I had it all planned out.

I never saw the woman I am today.  She was not a teacher.  She had not taught in Washington, D.C. and Newark, N.J.   She was not a runner, let alone someone who had run half-marathons. She was not someone who jumped at the chance to move and experience new places.  Especially not this far from her momma!  And she certainly was not quilting.

About the only plan that worked out was this one that I picked 10 months into that 18th year:

WeddingBells

Ten years later I am finally 28.  The age that ten years ago I thought I’d have it all figured out.

Ha.

I do not have it all figured out, and yet, little by little it’s falling into place.

I am so glad that my plans were not my destination.

Today I am thankful for the past 28 years, the people that I know, and the places that I have been.  I am grateful to the people who still love me with all the changing and growing, and excited by those I keep meeting.

And to celebrate 28, it’s Spring Break, baby!  Happy.freaking.Birthday. to ME!  And in true Spring Break tradition, I’m picking up the BEST birthday present ever.  Ashley.  One of those once in a lifetime friends that I met not long after I filled out all of those surveys of who I was going to become.  Thank God for friends who let you become you!

I’m off to celebrate, but I’ll leave you with some sweet memories of our past Spring Breaks.

Happy Friday and Happy Spring Break  – even if it’s only this weekend 🙂

 2011

2010

2007_2

2007

16 thoughts on “…and then I turned 28.

  1. Were we celebrating your birthday on a cruise this time 10 years ago? Or was it 11 years ago? Either way, that was quite the birthday! 😀

    ❤ you Ash!

    • Em, as hard as this is to believe, that was 11 years ago. Time is flying!!! Love you and so thankful for you and all our birthdays together 🙂

  2. Happy, happy day! The best laid plans, the road not taken, unanswered prayers – thank God that sometimes things go in different ways… Love you and the woman you are and are becoming.

  3. Pingback: Charms, Change, and Cheap | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

