Breakfast of Champions

Here’s a quick diversion from quilting because I have a STACK of half square triangles that need to be cut, but then that means they need to be … ironed.  And we all know how I feel about that!  Not happening.

So, onto something else I know.  Food.

Most of the time I like to eat healthy foods.  As a teacher, sometimes I get in a rut, or I get lazy, and I just start eating whatever takes less time.  Breakfast is always tricky because there is no hope at 5:30 am.  I used to use my Magic Bullet to make a smoothie every morning… until I realized I am not a morning person.  At all.  I’d rather hit the snooze button a million times than stand at the kitchen counter.  And you can forget eating breakfast at the table. HA.  Ain’t nobody got time for that!

I do, however, have time to stop EVERY DAY for a Dunkin coffee.  Priorities, friends.

A girl still needs food.

So I tried these awesome egg white muffins, but then I’m hungry again by 10:00 am.  Hey, I get to work at 6:00 am!

What’s a hungry girl to do?

Aha, I can make smoothies after all – and so can you!

All you need are some wide lid mason jars (easily found at your local target or wal-mart) and these awesome plastic lids!  Now I make two weeks worth of breakfasts at a time.

1.  Gather your jars and blender

Image2.  Get the milk/yogurt of your choice.  I use unsweetened almond milk because the smoothies are so good you don’t need the sugar and greek yogurt for some protein!

Image

3.  Grab some frozen berries and frozen spinach.

Just do it.

Get your popeye on, friend!

Any berry will do.  Mix it up, keep it the same.  YOLO.

(does anyone else agree that YOLO is the dumbest phrase ever?)

Image4.  Mix/blend/do whatever you gotta do to get it smooth.

This is when you will wish you had a vitamix

(If you do, I hate you)

If you don’t, get out a spoon and do what you gotta do.  I feel ya.

Pour into your adorable jars.

(Yes, they look gross, but this ain’t Smoothie King, and looks are deceiving.)

Image5.  Pop them into your organized freezer until you’re ready.

They last forever a few weeks.

Image

So, these jars really are the bomb.  I take my smoothie out at 5:45 am, put it in the fridge when I get to work, and then eat it around 9:00 am.  Perfection.  Plus, I’m not hungry again until lunch time which is a freaking miracle.    

Just for the record, in each blender batch (I make 3 batches for 8 smoothies) I use:

2 cups almond milk

2/3 cup greek yogurt

3 tbsps. pb2 (aka, God’s gift to the planet)

as many berries and spinach as I can fit

I’ll be back to quilting when I can work up the nerve to iron… GROSS.

Happy eating and Happy work week, friends!

 

6 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. Your posts always make me laugh 🙂 Great idea – I’ll have to try doing it all at one time. I’m really picky when it comes to smoothies – I usually use fresh fruits. I’ll also have to try frozen berries! I also like using oj 🙂

Comments make my day!

