Scraps for Me

Today I was sucked into the black hole otherwise known as Pinterest.  I swear, once I start, I just can’t stop.  If I made one tenth of the things that inspired me on Pinterest, I would be an old, old lady.  Then I saw this pin:

Image

SAY WHAT?

I wanted it.  Then.  Now.  Yesterday.

Paper Piecing has been on my “to-do” list, but kind of like eating healthy for a month is on my “to-do” list.  It’d be nice if it could happen… However, my desire for this block outweighed my laziness.  Hooray!

Luckily for me, it’s a free block by Anna at Six White Horses, and I immediately downloaded it from Craftsy.  Then, I looked up a great Paper Piecing tutorial by Faith at Fresh Lemon Quilts and watched a few videos on You Tube.  (I also watched an episode of the newest season of The Real World… Yes, sometimes I think I’m still in college!  At least now I know that is most definitely not the real world.)

Then, I got straight to work.

Image

Image

Finishing the first “piece”.  1/8 down…

Image

I was a little nervous piecing together my first two blocks, but I have to say it: this is the best my seams have ever looked.  Ever.

Image

(Yes, there’s a mistake in the top right corner, but I kind of like it when the first block I make in a pattern has a mistake.  It helps me appreciate my “firsts”.  I didn’t feel comfortable taking out an entire seam, so I just added to a piece and I figure quilting will cover it up!)

So, why Scraps for Me?

WELL, when I saw the scrappy goodness of the original Pinterest pin a new quilt clicked.  I love the different fabric lines that I’ve used or bought to make quilts.  However, I know that most of them will be heading to other homes.  While this is one reason I wanted to blog, to keep track of what I have made, I thought why not keep the scraps as well?  And, so, this is the beginning of my Scraps for Me quilt.  This quilt could take one year, or years, depending on how fast I make some quilts.  (And, yes, actually quilt and bind them too! I know, I know.)  With each quilt I make, I’ll take the scraps and create a scrappy paper pieced block.  I’m actually pretty excited about this because I’ll be able to keep a piece of all the quilts with me and still enjoy the fabric lines that I’ve bought over time without making an entire quilt.  Maybe I should call it Scrapbook?

Genius.

16 thoughts on “Scraps for Me

  1. I have been wanting to make those paper pieced stars too! I think they have this polished look to them regardless of if they are scrappy or designed.

    Great job!

  2. LOVE it! Once I’m done with my current quilt I may have to make one of these! I love making scrappy quilts and reviewing all the fabrics I have and remembering all the quilts and projects I’ve made. I think making a scrappy quilt for yourself is an excellent idea! When I made one last year I didn’t know what to do with it, so it kinda got adopted by my son. He thinks the sashing are roads and the rainbow blocks are for parking color-coordinated cars on!

  3. It’s gorgeous and such a great idea to use scraps. There must be thousands of potential quilts out there that could be made from scraps. It will be lovely to have a finished quilt made from fabrics you love and there’s no race to get it finished.

  4. Ummm… yeah. I don’t think you can call yourself a beginner anymore. This is truly impressive. You’re like a prodigy. I can’t wait to see what you do when you know how to finish a quilt. And I’m so excited to help!

  5. Great job! I love paper piecing. I recently tried it as well. And I didn’t even notice your mistake til you pointed it out!

Comments make my day!

