Spring Cleaning (the Design Wall)

This Saturday started with a bang.  Construction right.outside.my.house.  No.  No, siree, this is Saturday.  Luckily I have earplugs on hand, a fan, window unit, and an app for white noise.  Don’t mess with teachers’ day to sleep in.

Then I spent a lot of time sewing this quilt together:

Image

(Don’t worry, Renee, I have fixed those reds/pinks 🙂 )

I think this one has taken me so long to finish because it already looks done on the design wall.  So. not. true.  This joker is a time suck.  So many points to match up, ironing each.step.of. the.way. 

But, I’m proud to say that I’ve made some progress:

Image

(I need to empty out my trash…)

Four rows are completely sewn together:

Image

Hopefully I can finish this one up tonight so that I can start piecing together my next quilt.  This is why I needed to clean off my design wall:

Image

I don’t know who this one belongs to yet, but I’m sure it will come to me.

Now I’m off to a dinner with my husband and his coworkers.  I realized 25 minutes ago that the pants I was going to wear are dirty.  So, now I’m blogging and praying that an outfit becomes magically ready.  I am so smart sometimes.

Happy Saturday, y’all!

 

8 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning (the Design Wall)

  1. lol, you KNEW I was going to ask! I saw that photo and was like, oh no she didn’t move them?! Gah! Then read the note, phew! It is coming together really well, I hate how time consuming HST seem, but love the results! There are so many awesome layouts. I know you aren’t there yet, but do you have a plan for quilting it?

    • Renee, I was like “she is going to think I am crazy!” but I was just to lazy to re-upload a photo. I think I want to straight line quilt following the zig-zag in the white and then a narrow u in the color, i don’t know how to describe it… but like mountains, really narrow mountains, in the color. does that make sense? i’m going to steal your idea of drawing on a picture 🙂

    • Thanks, Stephanie – a few snafus with the final project, of course, but I can’t wait to start a new one 🙂 you’ll recognize some honey honey!

    • Jess – two table clothes from target and some thumb tacks! 🙂 It’s made everything so much easier – hopefully I can get started this week!

Comments make my day!

