Hey, Honey, Honey!

Since I made my granny square quilt top, (which I just realized I never took a “finished” picture of this quilt top… guess I get to be the crazy lady stopping traffic again this weekend) I have been itching to use Kate Spain’s Honey Honey line again.  Seriously, I love her designs.  I loved making a quilt with her Cuzco line so much, that I decided I needed one with Honey Honey as well.  I’ve post my design plan in a previous post, but I finally have actual fabric up on the design wall!

For this quilt, I’ve used two charm packs of Honey Honey and some strips from a jelly roll of Moda White.  Basically, I hate cutting, so this cut down on a lot of prep work.  (No pun intended…)  Plus, I was able to use the whole fabric line, which I love – because there was no way I could pick a favorite fabric.  Plus, I like more chaotic designs.

Image

I cut the charm squares in half, paired them with a strip of jelly roll that was cut to 2.5 x 5 inches long, chain pieced for day, and then ironed them.  (Grrrrr.  I hate ironing, too.)  Then I squared them up to 4.5 x 4.5 inches.  All of them.  But, really, that’s pretty low prep for a quilt top, so I’m not complaining.  It did help that the supplies were already basically ready.

Here’s the progress I made this weekend:

Image

I just love these Spring-y fabrics.  Even if New Jersey forgot about Spring this year, I’m determined to bring some Spring into my life with this quilt.  I’ve yet to name it, and it hasn’t decided who its owner is yet.  I’m thinking that this one will be pretty easy to quilt because I can easily follow the white sections with some straight line quilting and “follow the pattern”.

I have all of the other pieces ready to go, and I hope to have it all ready to piece together this weekend.  I might need to slow down on how many quilt tops I have in the wings to quilt this summer…  I see no rest for this weary teacher…

This weekend I may have also cut my hair shorter and bought a dress in preparation for our upcoming anniversary trip in June.

Image

I bought some bathing suits, too, but I’ll spare you! 🙂

That’s what I’m sewing these days, and tonight I’m off to quilt class to actually quilt something!  So get excited to see some real live quilting here soon.

Today I’m linking up with Let’s Get Acquainted Monday and I can’t wait to see everyone’s projects!  Happy Monday to ya!

14 thoughts on “Hey, Honey, Honey!

  1. Liking the look of your new quilt very much, Kate Spain is one of my favourites the colours are soo pretty and fresh looking. Great new look too..it’s been so long since I got my hair cut the salon’s just sent me a money off voucher asking me back!

  2. I love precuts, I am the same way! I almost bought the Simply Color fabric line today, and I looked at Spring House… Those two lines are very vibrant!

    • Thanks, Stephanie. I was totally inspired by your use of the fabric. Grrrrrr to waiting! But, hey, it’ll run like new when you get it back!

  3. Pingback: How to Make a Jelly Roll Quilt: 49 Easy Patterns | Guide Patterns

Comments make my day!

