Quilts for Boston

quilts for Boston
A while back, I posted a response to the Boston Marathon bombings.  One of the reasons I am most excited about quilting has been the community I have found with other quilters.  I look forward to seeing not only how they inspire me through their work, but I have found this community to be incredibly giving and comforting.  Since I am a newbie, this quilt drive for Boston was my first chance to “join in” on the giving.  I really wanted to contribute blocks to the Boston Modern Quilt Guild and their efforts to make quilts for those affected by the bombing.  Since I couldn’t go to my own guilds meeting last night due to a performance by my students from last year, I took the night to make two blocks.  While my contributions are small, I hope that they bring comfort to whoever gets my blocks.  I’ve been so inspired by others who have made quilt blocks and the update I read from Stephanie on Wednesday.  So far, the quilts look beautiful!
photo 2
photo 3
photo 4
I don’t know which block I like better, and I’m happy that the color scheme is not one I would normally work with.  (On another note, this makes me want to jump head first into the scrappy trip along madness that I missed since I was a newbie.  That block was so much fun!  Don’t be surprised if you see a quilt start in a few days….)  So, to the quilters in Boston who are putting this together – thank you for your hard work to bring this together and I know these quilts will bring comfort.
A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.  ~Author Unknown
7 thoughts on “Quilts for Boston

    • I got out of the play at 6:50 and I seriously considered coming late. But then I consoled myself with fabric. I can’t wait to hear how it went! I have my bag packed for class tomorrow. Nerd alert.

    • T, once I saw the project I knew I wanted to do something. Their quilts are beautiful and I’m glad people create projects like this!

Comments make my day!

