Name of the Game: Baby Quilts

When the quilting bug first bit, I decided to start with this quilt as my starter quilt.  Ha.  While the quilt top is finished, I quickly realized that there was no way I was going to be able to successful quilt a quilt that large without practicing first.  Practicing a lot.  Since then, I’ve made many smaller quilt tops, and finished one – heeeeey!  Now I’ve finally purchased my walking foot and it’s on its way as we speak, so I wanted to make sure I had a few baby quilts to work on when it arrives.  I. am. so. excited.  About the walking foot, and the upcoming babies!

Last night I finally finished the over-sized granny square quilt top that I made a while back.  When I was making this quilt top, I had a recipient in mind, but she hadn’t found out the gender of her baby yet.  Thank God it’s a baby girl!  It’s the perfect quilt for her and she’s my cousin, so I’m ecstatic that one of my first quilts will go to family. 

Here’s a sneak peak at the back:

Image

Here’s the finished quilt top, covered in basting pins:

Image

I’m really happy with how this quilt top turned out, and I promise I have a plan for quilting this baby.  There is a rhyme and reason to all of those pins.  

Then I spent the rest of my night ripping out the stitches from my previous failed attempt at quilting.  Let me tell you.  This sucks. 

Image

I ripped through the entire movie and only ripped out 2.5 lines.  What in the world.  So defeating.  However, this baby quilt is on it’s way to a growing baby boy, so I’m super motivated to finally finish this one.  Hopefully I’ll be adding a few more finished quilts to my list in the coming weeks – as soon as my walking foot arrives to save the day.  I do not want to spend any more time with the seam ripper!

Today I’m linking up with Beth’s Let’s Get Acquainted link up hosted by Melissa.   Be sure to check out the other projects – I always find them so inspiring!

12 thoughts on “Name of the Game: Baby Quilts

  1. Hi Ashley, I just wanted to say how fun your blog is! I recently started quilting and blogging too, and just found your site. I totally identify! Thanks also for pointing out the Let’s Get Acquainted link up.

    • So glad you found the blog – I always love finding new bloggy friends – especially ones that have just started too 🙂 I love the Link Ups – you should also check out Work in Progress Wednesday over at FreshlyPieced!

      • Yes, I am a big fan! I love seeing other people’s projects and it gives me a push to get on with mine! I’m in the Plum and June Blog Hop this summer too, looking forward to seeing everyone’s posts.

  2. Hi! Thank you for linking up! I just found you too, I love your granny quilt and can’t wait to see how you quilt it. You are going to love your walking foot, I know I can’t live without mine!

    • thank you, melissa – and thank you for the link up today! i’m not going to get too adventurous with the quilting, but i can’t wait to get some practice and see what i can do with the walking foot!

  3. Ugh, I was ripping stitches today too. Ugh. 😦 I know what you mean. The walking foot is AMAZING but go slow at first otherwise, like me, you’ll end up with your BFF (the seam ripper) 😦

    • i’m glad you cautioned me – because i have a feeling i will need that reminder when the mail man brings it! your ode had me laughing!

Comments make my day!

