Quilt-Spiration

I’ve been thinking lately about where quilters find their inspiration.  In the short time I’ve been playing with fabric, the list of quilts I want to make has been full.  It seems that with all of the blogs, Pinterest posts, and new fabric lines that I see, I am in a constant state of inspiration.  Which is great for my personality; I’m a starter.  I love starting new projects, dreaming, and thinking of new ideas.  I enjoy the creative process the most.  Of course, this means that I have a growing list that will never get finished, but I’m kind of OK with that.  Kind of.   I have a little notebook full of sketches of quilts I want to try and make that I keep on me at all times.  This helps when inspiration randomly strikes.

Image

It’s actually kind of funny because this book has taken on a life of its own.  Now some of my students will hand me graph paper with quilts that they have “designed” for me to include in my book.  Inspiring the next generation, people.  All in a days work.

I’ll never be able to make all of the quilts I pin, draw, or store as images on my iPhone.  Lately I’m even more inspired by what I see in every day life around me.  I wanted to share some of the images that I’ve found that inspire quilt-spiration.  Hey, my hubs is tired of looking at them!

Windows at Princeton University

Image

A Rug in a Home Decor Magazine

Image

(That I’ll never be able to make!)

A Carpet Swatch

Image

I actually want to make this…

Tissue Box.

Image

Urban Outfitters’ Floor

Image

Yes, please!

Walkway at Six Flags

Image

I absolutely love this take on the French Braid and I want to try and create a pattern for this.

Please don’t blow my bubble and tell me that this already exists.  I might cry.

Love.

Banana Republic Bathroom Floor.

Image

So, as you can see, unless I get a Sous-quilter sometime soon, my phone is going to continue to be backed up.  I might even have to buy another extension to my iCloud plan.  However, I can’t complain about finding inspiration.

Inspiration is hard to come by. You have to take it where you find it.
Bob Dylan

What inspires you?

14 thoughts on “Quilt-Spiration

  1. YOU inspire me. I mean, This is craziness. Who actually thinks “I think I’ll learn how to quilt…” and then DOES? I mean. What the crap?? I am impressed every single time I see these pictures. I mean. Just craziness. Craziness!

  2. I know exactly what you mean, sometimes my brain goes into overload with ideas of all the things I could make! I make notes and cut out pics (I know, I’m old school!) but usually there’s something else that comes along so I never go back to them. I had intended to write a post like this to organise my thoughts, but haven’t got round to it…no surprise!!

    • Write your post now – I’d love to see your ideas 🙂 I feel like my brain is on overload too – especially with all the blogs and pinterest!

    • Hexie floors are some of my favorites – and you’re right about DC. I should go back soon – I bet there are so many things I’m forgetting about DC!

  3. Pingback: Behind the Seams | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

  4. This is an awesome post–I do the same thing, only I’m completely lazy about taking photos of the things that inspire me. I mentor at a local high school that was built during the 1930s, and I love the art deco floors and windows. Every time I see them, I think to myself, “those would make a great quilt.” But I never take a picture.

Comments make my day!

