Sunday Sewing

Welcome to June, y’all.  I may or may not have been sewing in my sports bra today.  New Jersey definitely skipped right over Spring and landed squarely in desert.  This weekend has been extremely productive and I’m excited to show some semi-completed projects.  While the walking foot is still out there making it’s journey home to me, I am determined to get as many quilt tops ready to go before it’s arrival.  I want to make sure it feels right at home when it meets me!

First up, I ironed all of those Hey, Honey, Honey rows that I have been procrastinating forever.  Having this quilt top done is such a relief!  I can’t wait to finish this just in time for the Kate Spain blog hop over at Blossom Hearts Quilts.

Image

Have I mentioned how much I love Kate Spain?

A little while back, I thought this quilt top was finished.  However, this weekend, I decided to step it up and add a border to finish it off.  It’s going to my best friend who recently moved to another country with her husband who is in the military, and the border just reminds me of a hug.  Basically, she should think I am hugging her at all times when she’s under it.  Which won’t make her claustrophobic at all…

Image

Image

The hubs and I were acting a bit ridiculous in public taking these pictures.  Reason #4,567 I love him.  This quilt, Charming Chevrons, is based on Christa’s Quilts tutorial and quilt along.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, her tutorial is awesome!  Make this quilt – she has so many variations and it comes together easily!

I also put together the quilt back and I am in love.  Seriously.  In love.  It’s the Totem print by Anna Maria Horner in Grapefruit with some Love dots by Amy Butler.  I mean, what’s not to love about those two designers.  In fact, now I kind of want to keep this quilt…. good thing she’s my best friend and I’ll get to see it again!

Image

So now I’m ready for a basting party over at my friend Melanie’s house on Thursday!    How awesome to have quilty friends who help you out when you can’t baste anything larger than a baby quilt in your own home.  Blasted carpets and beds.  Everything is ready to go, folded, and packed in my quilting bag.  For Thursday.  Can you tell I’m excited?!

Just wait until you see the binding.  This quilt just screams happiness, right?

So, with all this productivity in the sewing room this weekend, my house is a disaster.  The dishwasher is unloaded, but I haven’t reloaded dishes, my laundry isn’t done, the living room is a hot mess, and I’m completely ill-prepared for tomorrow.

Good thing I found this:

Image

What a gem.

I’m linking up with Let’s Get Acquainted Monday over at Life’s Rich Pattern.  I’m also super stoked to be participating in the New Blogger Blog Hop this week  hosted by Beth at Plum and June!- I’ve already started brainstorming my post!

Plum and June

28 thoughts on “Sunday Sewing

  1. Love the sign….I need to get me one of these as well. The quilt tops are great….you are definitely getting a lot accomplished….congrats 🙂

  2. Those quilts tops look great! I used to baste on the brick floors downstairs, but had a lot of problems getting the backing to be straight and taut. So now I pin the back to the carpet upstairs, and it works much, much better!

    • Renee, I never thought to pin them to carpets! I’ll have to try that, of course, my huge couch covers most of the carpet. I keep hinting to my hubs that our next house better have a huge room dedicated to quilting. One can dream, right?

      • My big room, dedicated to quilting, is the room we use the most! It’s huge–like 600sqft, but has a slanted ceiling, so you have to duck to get to the two edges. It’s big enough to baste a king quilt and still have room for my sewing tables (two 6ft plus my machine table), a couch, two large shelves of fabric, and enough open space for the kids to play! Basically when we move I will be taking over our future living room! We don’t have a TV, so my sewing area can be the focal point of the room, right? 😉

  3. Good call on the border. I think it’s right! I just don’t do borders, but need to start thinking about when they are needed. I had a German friend tell me once that they say, “clean house boring woman.” So, there! 🙂

    • That’s going to be my new motto, Laura! So true! I was a little nervous about this border, because I thought it would take away from the chevrons, but I love it. Thank you!

      • Não acho que você colocam os animais acima do dinheiro. Conheci pessoalmente o comandante rolim em marília e tenho certeza que a ele jamais caberia tal ato. Se isso realmente foi confirmado com certeza passou pela aur£aiztçÃoo de um diretor da area. Mas com certeza você irão perder muitos clientes que estão ligados diretamente a fauna e a flora e olha que eles representam milhões de pessoas.

  4. I gotta get me o’ dem signs!

    My house was a wreck last week and my in-laws were coming. I felt like crying all week. I hate cleaning! Luckily I got it done. Mostly. And now to let it slowly decay to my usual pig stye. 🙂

    • That sounds exactly like my cleaning cycle. I am a mad woman right before visitors! My husband always laughs and says he should invite people over more often… which is true! The sign was meant to be!

    • Thanks, Heather! I’m glad I’m not the only one 🙂 So many better things to do than clean… like buy fabric online, read quilting blogs, piece, and cut fabric. But, not iron blocks. Never that 🙂

    • Thanks, Kelly! I try to have fun since I’m on a main street in town – that way I look like I’m supposed to be taking pictures of quilts? I don’t know if it fools the people passing by? hahaha.

  5. Gorgeous WiPs – Amy Butler, AMH and Kate Spain are three of my very favourite designers. Their use of colour is incredible. Thank you so much for linking up 🙂

  6. Okay, first – love your Kate Spain quilt! Second, a quilt is the best thing to send a faraway friend, I hope she adores it ♥ Third, a clean house IS a sign of a wasted life!! Who has time to clean when there’s fun and sewing?? Fourth, I am so pleased to be in the New Blogger Blog Hop as well! Can’t wait to see your post ♥ I’ve started obsessing over what to put in mine as well!

  7. Woo for Thursday! A clean house is only important unless you’re basting… which reminds me, I have to sweep and clean the floors! Ummmmm, yeah.

  8. Totally agree with that quote! I love both quilt tops. I have been wanting to make a chevron quilt top for a while… They’re just so pretty!!

  9. Ooh, can’t wait to see it finished! And FYI, I just vacuumed the floors for the first time all week (with two toddlers, that’s a long time in vacuum-land)

Comments make my day!

