Sunday Sewing

Today I have to begin with a huge “THANK YOU”.  Thank you to all of you who visited this weekend and gave me such overwhelming encouragement and love through the blog hop hosted by Beth at Plum and June!  Every comment left on Behind the Seams left me with a huge grin on my face and even more motivation to get sewing!  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, the quilting community is the best!  Seriously, you quilters know how to make a girl’s day!  Special shout out to Beth: Thank you for cultivating such a loving community of quilters – you’ve made my transition into blogging so much more rewarding!

After receiving so many good thoughts and loving vibes, I spent some time hanging out with my new best friend: The walking foot.  Can we all just take a moment to thank the quilting god for whoever invented the walking foot.  I mean, what in the world was I doing without one for so long?  Oh yeah, just making quilt tops.  “Here ya go, friend, it’s a nice quilt sheet for ya.” 

My new best friend:

Without you my life would be full of puckers.

I pulled out the baby quilt previously known as “quilting tragedy” from pre-walking foot days.  Now that sweet Baby Bear, the adorable recipient who was born on my birthday, is now almost 3 months old I figured it was time for him to get his quilt.  It was either that or when he graduated college at the rate I was going…

I decided on straight line quilting… who am I kidding, my skill level decided on straight line quilting.  Good thing straight line quilting looks good!

ImageImage

Image

The quilting is so flat.  It’s a Christmas miracle!!!!

Now, the binding is attached and I’m going to sit here all day like a mindless crazy watching Real Housewives of Orange County and Real Housewives of New Jersey, while stitching away on the back.  Don’t act like you don’t love them, too…

Image

Now I can’t wait to quilt the other baby quilt I have basted and ready…

This walking foot has me possessed!

Today I’m linking up to Plum and June’s Let’s Get Acquainted Monday hosted by Laura over at Little and Lots.  Be sure to look around her blog as she is one of my favorites that I’ve met through this blogging journey and her quilts are simply stunning!

Happy quilting, y’all!

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Sunday Sewing

  1. I just love those fabrics! I have been hoarding some for a while…waiting for the right quilt to make with them. Your straight lines work and look great! That quilt is a real treat for a baby!

  2. i tried to sew something without my walking foot this weekend. It was just wrong, everything was slippery and ridiculous. Walking foot is back on!

  3. girl, you crack me up! I could not agree more though- the walking foot is a godsend. I don’t know why I quilted for years without one, and now I just think, “duh! of course your quilts had puckers!” haha!

    Your baby quilt is adorable, and definitely something that he will not outgrow. just awesome!

    -Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  4. I love my waking foot, too. Lovely quilt. I really like the colors and fabric. Thanks for sharing on the Monday Link Up … 🙂 Pat

  5. SUCH cute baby-boy-quilt fabric choices. I love Lotta’s stuff but have never thought up a good enough excuse to buy any. I’m done feeling bad for only being able to straight-line quilt, and you should be too. I’ve done some quilts I’m pretty proud of using my walking foot!

  6. Beautiful and great job on your quilting! I haven’t quilted anything on my own machine yet but my goal is to try this summer:)

  7. Yay, finally! Love the Lotta quilt….. my Glimma fabrics arrived the other day and the colours are so gorgeous, really pleased. PS my sister’s baby loves the housewives…he’s 7 months old!

Comments make my day!

