Quilty Friends

Often people look at me sideways when they find out I blog about quilting.  (Ever experienced this?)  However, I must say that my decision to start blogging has been the most rewarding experience.  Why?  The quilty friends, of course. 

Yesterday I came home exhausted and over Wednesday only to find a package waiting for me from Renee at Sparrow Lane Quilts.  (Seriously, if you’ve never visited her, go check out her finished quilts!)  She sent me a wall hanging that she made for a tutorial on her blog (go check out the huge Lonestar she made – I’m obsessed!) 

Image

Image

Having her think of me and take the time to send me a note and an inspirational gift truly made my day, (ok, my week!)  Renee, thanks for being such a great friend!  I will love having this in my quilting room!  This is going to inspire me to try FMQ over and over again to be more like you 🙂

I also finished my 2nd baby quilt this week!  Oh, hey, check me out!  My husband is mailing this off today to baby Bear.  His mother was my saving grace when we both taught in DC.  I’m so excited that she is the recipient of one of my first quilts – she and I spent so much time together making centers for our kids, finding deals, writing grants, eating Chipotle, and swapping stories to keep us sane!  

Image

Image

Image

Finished Quilt Stats:

  • 32 inches x 40 inches
  • Bella by Lotta Jansdotter
  • Quilted by ME on my Bernina 215 

In other friendly news, this summer I’m participating in Plum and June’s New Blogger Blog Hop!  Make sure you check out the bloggers that are up this week – they’ve all prepared enjoyable reads for you!  I was up last week, and I have had the most fun meeting new bloggers and getting funny emails.

Friday, June 7th
Amy @ 13 Spools
Casey @ The Studiolo 
 
Friday, June 14th
Julie @ Jolie Maxtin
Adrianne @ On The Windy Side
Valerie @ Between Quilts
 
Friday, June 21st
Leigh Anne @ Ella’s Cottage
Sarah @ Quilt Candy
Jackie @ NW Patchwork
Erica @ Happy Fabric
Stephanie @ Simple Sewendipity
Lauren @ Seraphym
 
Friday, June 28th
Green @ So Sew Green
Gwendellyn @ The Rainbow Revolts
Michelle @ Factotum Of Arts
Kris @ Sew Sunshine
Camilla @ Faffling
 
Friday, July 5th
Christa @ Christa Quilts!
Stephanie @ Quarter Incher
Kristy & Shayla @ Sassafras Lane Designs
 
Friday, July 12th
Anne @ PlayCrafts
 
Friday, July 19th
Kelsy and Amanda @ Everyday Fray
Aylin @ AyliN-Nilya
 
Friday, July 26th
RobinSue @ RobinSue Quilts
Elizabeth @ In The Boon Docks
Emily @ Sew E.T.
 
Today I’m linking up with Kelly over at My Quilt Infatuation for Needle and Thread Thursday and Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish It up Friday!

 

31 thoughts on “Quilty Friends

  1. I don’t really tell people I blog about quilting, haha. Okay, everyone on FB knows, but I think most of them ignore it/could care less. I started my blog to share in the quilting community, not to share with my friends and family (see comment above, though some are dedicated followers!). I’m sure that little quilt is in a well loved place now! Glad I could brighten your day and your wall! 🙂

      • Thank you! 😉 I really enjoy your blog too–your writing is fun and entertaining, and it is fun to see you progress from super newbie to more and more confident! And you’re my first quilting friend!

  2. How sweet! I love looking at others FMQ work. Your baby quilt is super cute and I love the fabrics. I just got two Bella Jelly rolls….I have no idea what I am going to do with them, but I haddddd to have them:)

    • oh yes, it’s definitely a “have to have” fabric. of course, aren’t they all?! i am so inspired by FMQ! i can’t wait to see what you do with your Bella, Paula!

  3. yep! confused looks all the way, usually followed by, “so can you make a t-shirt quilt?” love your baby quilt, and you’re right- that is some pretty fantastic quilting by Renee!

    Thanks again for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  4. Lucky you! I often visit Renee’s site her quilting is so gorgeous. Congrats on finishing the Lotta quilt it’s gorgeous too I’m sure it will be well loved!

  5. Renee does gorgeous work. You’re a lucky woman!

    But your Lotta baby quilt is just the cutest, too. Great finish. I’m glad it is going to someone special–some very special people have my earliest quilts, too, and now I’m starting to cycle back and make them new ones. 🙂

    • I definitely feel lucky 🙂 Thanks for the quilt love! That will be such an exciting day – to be able to cycle back! Such a great feeling.

  6. I think quilty friends are one of the absolute best things about blogging! What a lovely mini you received!

    Well done on the baby quilt – beautiful colours. I’m sure it’ll be treasured!

    • Thanks, Kristy! Quilty friends truly are the best! I don’t think I could kept up the blogging and the quilting without the support of others!

  7. i love simple squares baby quilts. and simple lotta designs! it’s wonderful.

    that lonestar is the most amazing thing i’ve seen in a long time. looks like renee can quilt and is nice to boot. =)

    • I try! 🙂 Though I usually come off as painfully sarcastic in person. It takes people a while to figure out I’m joking…I don’t think that comes through on the internet though!

  8. What a perfectly cute baby quilt!! Fantastic job! And lucky you for receiving such a great mini from Renee, her quilting is beyond awesome!

  9. I absolutely love the baby quilt! I am working on my second baby quilt as well. Its for our baby boy due in 6 weeks. I guess I better get to work! I only have one row done so far 🙂

  10. Wow that wallhanging is fabulous. You WILL be able to quilt like that eventually. It just takes practice. Nice finish on your baby quilt. I’m so proud that you quilted it yourself! It looks great 🙂

  11. Your Bella baby quilt is just perfect! I’m hoarding some Bella and haven’t decided on quite the perfect project yet. I’m sure your friend will adore it!

  12. Pingback: Cheers to The Year I Started Quilting | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

