Let’s Get Acquainted Monday!

There’s been very little sewing this weekend.  With the arrival of warmer weather, my husband’s good friend from college came up from the weekend.  He’s always been a personal favorite of mine, which was only solidified this weekend when he complimented my quilting and made the guest bed.  I knew he was one of the good ones.

We spent Saturday down the shore (check out my Jersey lingo coming out!)

Image

Reading, people watching, and eating seafood.

Image

I did manage to squeeze in some quilting, though.  After Wednesday’s post I was so thankful that I asked for quilting advice from y’all on my newest baby quilt!  There were so many suggestions and I decided that Adrianne was a genius for seeing an X where I just saw a granny square.  So I’ve quilted two of the quadrants and started on the other 2.  It’s kind of hard to see at this point, but trust me, I can’t stop petting it.

Of course, this weeks blogging advice is on photography from Tessa, and here I am sharing crappy indoor iPhone photos.  I apologize for my general failure today!

Image

To get the quilting lines straight past the outside squares, I took Laura’s advice and used blue painters tape.  (And again, completely failed.  Didn’t take one photo.  What is wrong with me?)  I will say that while it got the job done, and my quilting would be much wonkier without it, I think next time I’ll use masking tape.  The painters tape wasn’t quuuuiiiittttteeee sticky enough.

ImageImage

So, you get the point!

I have the binding fabric in hand, and I promise, come hell or high water this week I will take a proper outdoor photo of this beaut.  My goal is to finish it up by Thursday so I can take it to my Guild Meeting.  Since, you know, prior to this month’s meeting I was just taking them quilt tops for show and tell.

Happy Monday to ya, friends, and I hope you had a wonderful weekend.  Thank you for all of your encouragement on this quilt – I’m so glad you shared!

Today I’m linking up with Lucy over at Charm About You for Plum and June’s Let’s Get Acquainted Link Up!

13 thoughts on “Let’s Get Acquainted Monday!

  1. So funny, about 5 minutes ago I was laying out the same Spring house fabric on the floor – trying to work out what I will do with it 🙂 I love your granny’s square block…great idea about the quilting.

  2. It’s looking good! Can’t wait to see it all done for the full X effect! I wish I had the knack for “seeing” other shapes in quilt designs 🙂

  3. What is the pink fabric in the border? (Is it Sketch in Lipstick?) Your quilting is holy-cow amazing. It’s going to look so cool when all the v’s meet in the center.

    I also posted a crappy iPhone post this weekend and then read that advice post, lol. I kind of tend to think they’re okay once in awhile (once a week?) as long as I do real photos most of the time. Right?!

  4. Welp, you know we not only need to meet up to quilt – we need to meet up for a beach day, too 😀 The quilting looks so straight! Lol great job! Not that I didn’t think you could quilt straight – it just looks so good!

Comments make my day!

