WiP Wednesday

Wednesday is here.  The final Wednesday before summer vacation.  Can I get an amen?! I spent yesterday like this celebrating the end of the year.  These kiddos completely wore me out… and I may have lost my voice.  Stage mom apparently translates to sideline loony, too!

Image

By the time I got home I was completely exhausted, and yet, I managed to finish quilting my baby quilt.  Like I said on Monday, I am so thrilled that I asked for advice on how to quilt this sucker.  You guys completely saved the day, kept it within my abilities, and made this quilt way better than it would have been if I had stayed with my original plan.

Without further ado, the baby quilt.  Because let’s be serious, you’re not here for my awesome iPhone photos.  (Guys, it was raining AGAIN.  I do what I can.)

Image

Image

This is my favorite stage in the quilting process.  I love when the quilt is quilted and folded.  It just feels so snuggly and almost done.  A quilt, but not quite a quilt that’s leaving you.

Image

I just love looking over and seeing a quilt!

Up next:  Binding.

And, serious quilting joy this week.  Baby Bear received his quilt yesterday and I got the best love!  His dad posted a picture to my Facebook, and mom sent me a video “thank you” from Bear.  Like, can’t even handle how happy I was.  I sat there like an idiot laughing, crying, and clapping.  (I’m only sharing because I know you’ve done this, right?)  I loved quilting before, but let me just say, that sent me over the top.  I might have showed the hubs the video more than once.  Needless to say, I’m officially hooked on sending these suckers off.

Happy WiP Wednesday, friends.  I hope you’ve had a wonderfully quilty week, too!

13 thoughts on “WiP Wednesday

  1. Of course, your quilting looks amazing. Great job! (You’ll be doing like a quilt a week when school’s finally out, if you’re this productive during the last few weeks!)

  2. Your quilt is awesome! The quilting works great with the granny square. I loved seeing the photo of your bella quilt and bear yesterday, SO cute–and what a lucky baby.

  3. Love your quilts! You have an eye for color! And your quilting is SO GOOD. I’m so jealous of your straight lines. And I feel your pain about the iPhone photos. I’m in the same boat.

  4. Congrats on your finish – it looks fabulous!
    How wonderful to hear of your experience giving your quilt to Bear! Quilt on my sister!

  5. Oh my God it is the most amazing thing to make something and then give it to someone who appreciates it as much as you do 🙂 Store up all of those moments to counteract the people who just don’t get it.

    Granny square looks phenomenal! Do you have a recipient chosen yet? What project is up next?

  6. It looks great, I love the colors together. I totally hear ya about the rain, it’s such a drag! It’s so hard to take nice pictures when the weather doesn’t cooperate! I was thinking instead of skipping WIP Wed since I couldn’t get good pics yesterday, just biting the bullet and posting my crappy incandescent pictures and then updating my blog post later with nice bright sunny pics, lol

  7. I’m so glad I’m not the only one. 🙂 I gave away 2 full size quilts last Christmas and it was quite emotional for all parties involved.

    Have you watched the Quiltcon lectures (free on Craftsy)? I laughed, I cried. Total quilt love. Especially Mary Fons and Jacquie Gering.

  8. Ashley, Love your Blogs. Did you stitch this quilt yourself on sewing machine, and if so did you do it in sections ? You did a great job. I “m new to quilting, so I need all the help I can get. Thank you so much, Bonita

  9. Love love love love love! The skinny Vs are absolutely rockin on that granny square – so cool! Happy last week of school 🙂 I know you’ll miss the kiddos but hallelujah for summer right? My 2nd grade teacher friend confessed to using a gift card from a parent to Trader Joes to load up on 2 Buck Chuck the other night. Cheers to a productive summer of quilting!

  10. Yay, your quilt looks amazing, love the quilting. Glad bear’s quilt was well received, that video sounds so cute!! I know what you mean about the rain, but it’s pretty much raining all the time here so what can you do!

Comments make my day!

