Quality Pillow Time

This weekend has been full of good news.  Like, school being out, Cabo having good weather next week for our vacation, AND winning a pincushion from Lynn over at Monkey Needle!  People!  I am so excited.  I no longer have to use that hideous tomato.  Instead I won a beautiful pincushion, and I am so excited.  See, this whole quilting community just makes my life so much happier!  And, you should really go check out her work because she MADE AN UMBRELLA.  I know, I was in awe, too.  No really, if you just kept reading, you better go back and click that link – it’s worth it.  (Thank you, smiles!)

I also finished up my first ever pillow and now a monster has been created.  Every scrap looks like a great place to start and I’ve already started hoarding backing fabric for my next one.  Sickness, I tell you.  To create the pillow front I used Molli Sparkles genius tutorial that you can find here.  No really, there’s little ironing, need I say more?  Or just go look at Molli’s work.  It will bring instant happiness to your life.  To form the pillow I used this pillow tutorial by Jaybird Quilts hosted over at Sew Mama Sew.  Now.  If I can make a pillow, anyone can make a pillow.  This tutorial made everything easy.

Now… onto the pictures!

photo 2 photo 4

Of course, we can’t decide which orientation we like most.  Thoughts?

I just can’t get over how much I love these little herringbones.

photo 1

And now, for the back.  I am obsessed.

photo 3

The hubs even mentioned that he wanted this fabric for his quilt.  Winning.

So, what are you waiting for – go back to the top, click on the links, and make a pillow!  Woohoo.  Also, baby girl granny quilt is done, but I’m waiting for Mom to see it before I post.  I wanted to mail it out yesterday, but then I woke up at 12:45 and the post closes at 1:00.  Yes, you read that right, 12:45.  Can we say I got some quality pillow time this weekend!  Today I’m linking up with Plum and June’s Let’s Get Acquainted Monday hosted over at Heart of Charnwood.

Happy quilting, y’all!

21 thoughts on “Quality Pillow Time

  1. I am so happy you had time to make a pillow. It turned out great. Is it not liberating at doing a smaller project that is so useful in no more than a day :-)? I love fitting these in when I need a break from the quilts.

    School is out this upcoming Friday for us and I can’t wait!! Have a good vacation.

  2. Ok. All we ever do is talk fabric and egg each other on. 🙂 But I have to know what that fuschia solid is!? It’s AMAZING with the Chicopee. You did a fantastic job with this one, I love it.

  3. It looks awesome! I love how you incorporated one of the circles on the black chicopee (was that intentional b/c it looks great?!). I think I like the horizontal layout best 🙂 Enjoy your vacation!

  4. That pillow looks great in either orientation. I looked back a post though, and I think you have it flipped the right way in your grouping of pillows. The stripe is the perfect height to tie the lower pillows to the higher pillows.

  5. I love what you did with the pillow – containing the patchwork to a strip within a mostly solid pillow. An all-over patchwork pillow might be a bit of a hard sell in my home (not really our aesthetic) but I could probably sneak in a bit like this!

  6. Fabulous, simply fabulous. And that husband is a keeper of yours–anyone who encourages you to buy more of the Comma line, is someone to take care of and keep around!

  7. Love this cushion, it’s yummy…and you’re probably super bored of this question now, but I don’t care I need to know …what is that pink?! PS have a great holiday 🙂

  8. Pingback: Pillow Talk | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

