WiP Wednesday

Hey, friends!  I am loving being home and sharing my quilts with my family.  There is something special about sitting with my grandmothers and showing them the quilts I have made.  Both of them have made quilts and are way better seamstresses than me, so hearing their thoughts has been very encouraging.  I think this might go down as my favorite quilty memory.  Also, being home means I have company while I sew!

Exhibit A:

Image

The Chicopee St. Louis 16 Patch is finally quilted!

Image

Image

It’s hard to really see the quilting, but it’s straight line quilting.

My specialty!

I was excited to make a “larger” quilt and play with a scrappy back:

Image

I adore these Shelburne Falls prints and luckily I have enough left over for some pillows.  WINNING.

Here’s a closeup of the lime green and teal thread:

Image

Image

Now I’m off to bind this quilt – my first “larger” quilt!  I think I’m going to try to machine bind it, so wish me luck!  Also, any tips on washing quilts before you gift them?  I would appreciate any and all suggestions.  I hope you are all having quilty weeks and wonderful summers.  Sorry for my delay in responding to emails as well.  This week I was sidelined with a stomach virus and I am a terrible sick person.  i.e.  I wallow in bed and whine.  Luckily for my family I’m back to 100%.

Happy quilting!

Today I’m linking up to WiP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced and Needle and Thread Thursday where Kelly featured another Chicopee quilt of mine!  You can really see my addiction there!

20 thoughts on “WiP Wednesday

  1. Ohhh, it’s lovely!! Great job! And yay for sewing companions!

    I always throw in a Shout Color Catcher when I wash my quilts for the first time. Lesson learned after a horrible quilt tragedy. Now it’s my staple and I refuse to wash without one…no matter what colors or types of fabrics. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. That quilt turned out awesome! Your uncle is sure to love it! How big is it? It looks like make 50ish x 70ish? I love that size–perfect for snuggling, kids, small beds, laps, and nice for quilting–not so big you have to wrestle with it a ton, and lots of space to play in. Check out youtube for machine binding videos–they are so helpful. If I get a chance to go through my book marks to find the tutorials I’ve used I’ll send them your way!

  3. Love this quilt! I wasn’t a fan of Chicopee…until now. I’m no expert (I’m working on my third quilt) but I wash them upon completion with at least 1 Shout Color Catcher. More if there is a lot of red or really saturated colors. Like Kimberly @Robotmomsews above, I will not wash without one. I love that crinkly look and feel washing gives a quilt.

  4. Oh it looks great! I love the different color threads 🙂 I generally don’t wash my quilts before giving them away but I do give washing instructions and encourage them to use the Color Catchers. I’ve yet to find them in Canada but I plan on stocking up when I’m in San Fran in October 🙂

  5. Great quilt!

    I have just started washing before gifting so that the receiver isn’t alarmed by the change in texture after the first wash. I use cold water and a color catcher (or 2).

  6. I am so glad you are feeling better – I just got over the flu and a stomach virus, now a UTI – this summer has been rough – but anyway – I LOVE LOVE your quilt! Lucky person to receive it! Have fun
    jan@sewandsowfarm

  7. Awesome-sauce! That was a quick quilt turnaround – I’ll def have to check out the St Louis 16 Patch tutorial you posted. I love your thread color choices – so bold and yet so right! Glad you hear you’re feeling better – fresh NC mtn air is good for the soul!

    • Jenni!

      LADY! I was going to email you soon. I’ll be in Winston next Monday chaperoning my sister to tennis camp. AKA, being mom while my mom is away at a workshop. SO. do you have time for lunch/coffee/fabric shopping. I’m just saying. This could be awesome!

      hope you’re well! Ashley

      • Hey lady! Just resurfacing from an extended weekend away in FL. Is your sis still at tennis camp? I’m around Thurs/Fri if you want to do lunch/coffee/fabric shopping! Shoot me an email 🙂

  8. You are doing such a great job! It is absolutely beautiful! The scrappy back is just perfect. The colors are very pleasing to the eye.

    I wash before gifting so that non-quilter’s aren’t alarmed by the texture change, plus it removes out any leftover markings and spray baste. I wash and dry on Delicate cycle (cold water/low spin). I usually use Tide Free & Gentle, but I have seen a lot of quilters recommend Soak. I totally recommend Shout Color Catchers. I had a potential issue with some dark blue fabric bleeding yesterday and it came out fine. The color catchers came out light blue during the first wash, but they were completely clean the second time. I had to wash twice because there were tiny fabric bleeds from before washing and I got those out with Shout Advanced Heavy Duty Spray. I cannot tell you how relieved I was LOL!

  9. Awesome stuff Ashley! I love the quilting thread and your corners all match up so exactly – lovely!

    Jenny @ A Note to Follow Sew

Comments make my day!

