Runs in the Family

There is no keeping up with my grandmothers.  You may have noticed that I have been off grid lately…  That’s because I have been soaking up as much time with my grandparents as possible.  This includes lugging my sewing around with me and subjecting them to talking with me, looking at my quilts, and helping me at all times.  Although, I don’t really think they mind…

This means that I have been super productive and I am now super tired.

(They seriously have more energy than me…)

On Tuesday I hung out with my Gramma and Grandpa, picked up 6 gallons of fresh blueberries, finished all the blocks to a quilt, cut out another quilt top, and she made dinner for the family.  I’m pretty sure I made drinks and set out the napkins.  Oh, and loaded the dishwasher.  I am useless.  She had it all done before I could blink.  See, here she is making a cobbler while I sit and use a rotary cutter.

Did I mention she cut all of her quilts by hand?

Image

Utterly useless, I am. 

I also finished another project I have in the works and she helped me lay out part of the finished project in between all of our other projects:

Image

Which I can’t reveal quite yet.

Then, today I went to hang out with my Mammaw and Pappaw, and again she helped me with quilting, she made lunch, and she made dinner for the family.  I made drinks, got napkins, and set the table, but otherwise she basically runs circles around me, too.

Image

I finished some quilt backs and we got all the butterflies ready to be appliqued.

We had a nice little assembly line going.

I would sew the butterflies to their lining:

Image

She finished them of by hand-stitching the opening:

Image

And, wait for, we even enlisted my Pappaw for help with ironing:

Image

(Did I mention that he’s made a quilt – because he reminded me of that tonight!)

Now we have a nice pile of 35 butterflies to be appliqued once my mother teaches us her skillz.

Image

Here are some of my favorites:

Image

Basically, I am having the time of my life, soaking up all of this knowledge, quilt love, and grandparent time.  I apologize if I’m not responding to emails.  I know you all understand and appreciate my absence! 

Happy Quilting!

10 thoughts on “Runs in the Family

  1. Oh, Ashley, I am so jealous! I never had a Mammaw or Grsndpaw or Grandma or,Grandpa, let alone ones as creative and as love with you as they are! Have amazing, quilting fun and just keep soaking it all up! We miss you!

  2. Ashley I had such a chuckle reading this. AND I’m envious! To have all four of your grandparents around you is just precious. I never met any of mine as they had all passed on before I was even a twinkle in my Dad’s eye. So don’t apologise for enjoying Grandparent time. Dasha

  3. Granmas are the Queens of multi-tasking! They can cook, clean, garden, visit & craft circles around any of us. So glad you’re enjoying the blessings of family and home visits. What a fun summer!!

  4. I love this post! It is so great how your entire family shares in your love of sewing! You are going to have so many awesome quilts and memories at the end of this trip.

    Grandparents do have a crazy amount of energy. Mine are always traveling all over the US in their RV. I’m exhausted after a day trip LOL!

  5. Those butterflies. I think I might have to make something inspired by them because my jealousy is getting the better of me right now. Maybe you could trace one and post a template? When you get home and have time of course. 🙂

  6. So that picture of you and your Mammaw is literally priceless. Love. And of course I second Sarah’s idea that you post of butterfly template 😉 So sweet!

Comments make my day!

