Seeing Double

Today has been such a blessing.  Time at home continues to be wonderful as I see even more and more friends.  Right now I’m sitting and blogging with my sweet friend, Ashley as she blogs for her business, Story Photographers.  Cool blogger moment for me!  I love having talented friends, and let me just say, if you need a photographer book these people.  They did our wedding, love, family, etc.  shoots, and they’ve been wonderful friends for years.  OK, OK, back to quilts.

ashash

Even earlier today, I got to see a sweet college friend Ben, meet his wife Brittany who is already my BFF  through her blog, Facebook, and Instagram.   Of course it was nice for us to actually have some face to face time, and it wasn’t even awkward when she’d say something and I would finish sentences because I’d seen it on social media.   Surprise, that quilt I’ve been talking about lately was actually two quilts.  Ben and Brittany have the most adorable twin girls who I adore daily on Instagram.  There is nothing sweeter than seeing your friends become parents and seeing this family brought so much joy to my heart today.  So, without further ado, here are the quilts.  Quilts.

DSC01099

DSC01097

Since they are twins, I wanted the quilts to be similar, but have some differences.  I think there are two blocks on each quilt that are different and the backs are different as well.  When I was in the planning stages of this quilt I put up my fabric selection on Instagram and Brittany liked it so I knew it was a match made in heaven.  Mommas gotta like the gift, people!

Don’t know what I was thinking, but I didn’t make my mom walk into the grass to get a closer photo.  (Supposedly she’d allergic to grass… so I was trying to be sensitive), but here are some of the blocks up close.

photo

Here are the backs:

DSC01100

I decided to make them different so Ben and Brittany could “assign” them to the girls as they saw fit!  Even though the girls are just turning one, I wanted to make sure they could use these quilts for a long time so they are 42 x 56 inches.

Finished Quilt Stats:

  • Size: 42 inches x 56 inches
  • Various Prints: Honey, Honey; Amy Butler Soul Blossom, Free Spirit
  • Pattern: St. Louis 16 Patch
  • Binding: Habitat by Pat McCarroll for Free Spirit
  • Quilted by Me on my Bernina 215

The past two times I have gifted quilts it’s been in person, and let me tell you, if you aren’t already hooked on quilting, gifting quilts makes you want to make 20 more.  I can’t wait to finish the stack I have basted and send them off!

25 thoughts on “Seeing Double

  1. Love the photographs and the quilts!! I don’t know what I like more- making them or giving them away. Ok, it’s buying fabric but the others are a close 2nd. 🙂

    • Kelly! Yes the wonderful Soul Blossom! Love! By the way, I have been trying to comment on your blog and they won’t go through 😦 Are you seeing them? Are they posting a million times and I just can’t see it? I just got a new computer so I don’t know what’s going on….

      Ashley

      • that’s so weird! no, I haven’t seen any of your comments. 😦 I don’t know why. I don’t think that anyone else is having issues. Does it work from another computer? Hope you figure it out.

        by the way, thank you so much for linking to Needle and Thread Thursday!

        🙂 Kelly

      • okay- try this- something similar was happening to me with Sew ET, and when I googled the blog, I was able to comment. For some reason, when I went to it through bloglovin’ I couldn’t comment.

        🙂 K

  2. Congratulations Ashley…….the quilts a absolutely beautiful. They are two lucky girls. Love what you did with the backing also. Have a great day …..Marie x

  3. Pooh my gosh Ashley those are fantastic! I love how unique they are from each other but then are still equally complimentary. What an amazing baby gift (x2!). You did a fab job. Congrats on a huge finish 🙂

  4. They are so gorgeous, Ashley. I love the feeling of gifting a quilt. (I don’t think a home is quite home-y unless there’s a homemade quilt in it.) Love the idea of these twin quilts! Very smart.

  5. Told you I’d stop by! Those quilts are so pretty and perfect for twin girls I’m sure they will be very well loved. I’m starting soon on my first quilt that I intend to give away, hopefully it will be well received…and not fall apart!

  6. Yay! So pretty! The backs are great. As a twin a approve that these are both similar and different 😉 The backdrop is so pretty for the top quilts!

  7. Just perfect x2! Love all the Amy Butler prints!
    Two lucky little girls indeed!
    And i’m so with you on the mom needing to love the gift!

  8. Pingback: Just Keep Sewing | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

  9. Pingback: Cheers to The Year I Started Quilting | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

