Summer Reading

20130725-111817.jpg

 

Hello lovelies.  Isn’t summer so wonderful?  I love taking life a little slower, even though I’ve been in constant motion lately.  One of my favorite things about summer is sitting back and escaping with a book.  I have been known to read a book a day, everyday, throughout the summer.  I love staying up into the wee hours of the night.  Last night was no exception, I stayed up late quilting and reading.  Then I was up at 8:00 to quilt and read.

I’ve had a few people request some of my book suggestions, and I would recommend any of the books above.  That’s an image of the books I read while on vacation in Mexico.  They’re all great summer reads.  The Kinsellas’ are easy pool reads, while the Hilderbrands have a little more depth.  Also, basically anything by Jodi Picoult falls under the “highly recommend” category.  Like, go out and buy it now kinda category.

However.  Let’s also talk about this category:  “Mind Blown”

If you think you can handle it, go out right now and buy Gillian Flynn’s novels.  She has written three, and you better believe I’m buying any more she releases in hard back.  The day they come out.  No questions.

Gone Girl.  Sharp Objects.  Dark Places.

Of the three, Sharp Objects was my least favorite, but that’s like saying book 6 in the Harry Potter series was my least favorite.  They’re all still amazing.  Like, Thanksgiving meal amazing.  Dark Places will leave you thinking about it weeks later and Gone Girl will seriously blow your mind.  You will make others read it, and please email me too.  I would love nothing more than to say, “I KNOW, what was that?!”

What are you waiting for?  Why have you read this far?  Why are you not already in your car headed to Target, Barnes and Noble, or the library?  I said: “RIGHT NOW”.

*Don’t worry, quilting will resume tomorrow.  I’ve quilted one and almost finished a new quilt top.

8 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. Gone Girl was fascinating, if a little insane. But I like my books twisted and insane. I haven’t had much time to read, but I’m in the beginning of Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. And I’ve been saving the last story in George Saunders’s Tenth of December for when I have a big chunk of time. His work is so inspiring to me.

    But what I’m looking forward to the most is starting to read chapter books out loud to Eli. He has requested the How to Train Your Dragon series. The local indie store was out yesterday, but I just got the call that they got their shipment.

  2. Lol I looked at that stack and was like “one if these thing is not like the other…” You’re totally spot on about Gillian Flynn! I’ve only read Gone Girl and I live every crazy moment of it :). Are you on goodreads?

  3. I am waiting for Dark Places from the library. I loved Sharp Objects way more than Gone Girl, but I think it was the evil mother. I have a thing for evil mothers in fiction? I just finished The Art Forger, and it was interesting.

  4. The summer life of a teacher sounds like the complete opposite of the summer life of a stay at home mom 🙂 Not much time for sewing or reading in my life these days 😦 But I do love to curl up with a book and stay up far too late LOL I haven’t read Gillian Flynn but I will add her to the list. Right now I’m reading An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon. If you haven’t read the Outlander series pick them up!

Comments make my day!

