Just Keep Sewing

In this final week before my summer vacation comes to a tragic end, and school picks up again, I find myself channeling Dori’s wisdom: Just Keep Sewing.  I know once work starts again, I’ll be far less productive and I’m trying to get as much accomplished before I’m pulling wild hours for my new kiddos.  So what have I been up to since finishing the twin quilts?  Everything.

I’ve finished quilting my Chicopee Stripe quilt, and let me tell you – I am loving the straight line quilting on this one.

Image

Image

A view from the back:

Image

And in an effort to finish just.one.more. I’m working away at the binding!

Image

Which we all know is the best binding ever.  Memoir in charcoal.

And it has my husband’s name.

Image

In the meantime, I haven’t rested.  I’ve been working on another project that I want to at least have basted by Thursday – when I go take another FMQ class before I leave NC, and I am so excited about this one.  Red is my favorite color, and I hardly ever use it, but not in this one.  I broke out the entire stash of red.

Image

Check out those adorable deer!

This quilt has been a special project of love with my Mammaw and sister ironing it, my mom helping me put the strips together, my grandmother helping me cut it, my Mammaw helping me put all 9 patches and rows together, and even my Pappaw sewing a little.

Image

I can’t wait to finish this one!

So, for the next 5 days, you might think I’m a mad woman.  However, once school starts my time will be devoted to my scholars first and crafting second.  Today I’m linking up to my favorite linky party: Let’s Get Acquainted Monday!  You should check out the other amazing projects!

14 thoughts on “Just Keep Sewing

  1. You’re going to be the straight line quilting guru soon! Looks great and am very excited to see more of the red and white it is fab and such a great colour combo 🙂 Can’t believe you’re starting back at school it’s very confusing our kids have only just started their hols!

  2. Can’t wait for the Chicopee finished pics/reveal. Also loving the R&W quilt – I have one on my “to do” quilt list (Go State!). Where are you taking a FMQ class in NC? I’m looking to do one this Fall (let me know if you like your class – per our panera chat, I haven’t found a place as awesome as RPS ’round here!)

  3. Wonderful Quilts Ashley. I love the red and white. It will be such a special quilt given that your family have help you. Have a great week……Marie

  4. Thats so sweet that the red 9 patch is turning into a family project 🙂 I’d love to hear all about your FMQ classes, FMQ scares me a little bit!

  5. Can’t wait to see the Chicopee stripe quilt reveal! Every time I use that Memoir print I get a little misty-eyed. And I am looking forward to seeing your red-and-white nine patches. You just suddenly did that one!

  6. Pingback: Chicopee Stripes: Finished | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

