Brave the Shave: Quilt Edition

My sister, Z.

My sister, Z.

EDITED:  With the love that you have all shown through donations, and with the sweet friends of ours that have shared this charity quilt through Facebook and their Blogs, please email me @ ashley.b.hinton@gmail.com to let me know you donated.  That way, I can easily reach you if you are chosen!!!  We know this is an extra step, but we want to make sure we can say Thank you! and also find you after the drawing!

I mentioned last week that my sister, along with other passionate souls, are shaving their heads to put an end to childhood cancer.    She’s already fundraised quite a bit of money through a hat day at her high school, and she’s hosting other events when she returns to college in the fall.  While I will return to NC to support the event, I wanted to help her raise money.  So, here it is.  Your chance to win a quilt.   100% of what we raise with this quilt will go to the St. Baldricks foundation to end childhood cancer.   The finished quilt top is finally done – and I love how the Belle Wave pattern turned out in these Amy Butler prints.

Image

(don’t worry, this will become a finished quilt.)

To Win:  Donate here to help end childhood cancer.

1 Entry – Donate $5.00

3 Entries – Donate $10.00

On the day of the event, Z will draw the lucky winner and we will mail you this quilt.

Yours for no more than $10.00.

And, more importantly, you helped raise money to end childhood cancer.

Image

Of course you can donate more money, as generous people have.  (A huge THANK YOU!)  However, to keep the odds ever in your favor*, we want to make sure everyone feels like they have a chance to win.  Also, when you donate through her page, make sure to include your name so we can enter you into the raffle.  you do not have to contact us – you’re in the raffle once you click donate!   EDITED:  With the love that you have all shown through donations, and with the sweet friends of ours that have shared this charity quilt through Facebook and their Blogs, please email me @ ashley.b.hinton@gmail.com to let me know you donated.  That way, I can easily reach you if you are chosen!!!  (If you wish to make an anonymous donation on her fundraising page, please be sure to email me so that I can enter your name.)

Image

So, what are you waiting for?  It’s not like you have to shave your head.  That’s up to Z and the other shavees.  Plus, at the end of this, on October 12, 2013,  you could walk away a little warmer – both literally (you have a quilt) and figuratively (you raised money for childhood cancer).

Image

Stay tuned for updates on the quilting, backing, and binding.  My mom helped me pick out all of the finishing touches, and it’s going to be gorgeous if I say so myself.

Image

So, until October 12, 2013, until the last person loses their hair, we’ll take donations for a chance to win this Belle Wave quilt.  Which I’m now christening the Brave Wave quilt.  I love serendipitous moments – how the original quilt design title lends itself so easily to the Brave the Shave event.

*Bonus points to anyone who caught this literary reference.  

Don’t forget to email me if you donate @ashley.b.hinton@gmail.com.  We’ve realized with such generous friends that we need to ensure we have an accurate way to find you!

Check out her official St. Baldrick’s page – this is the place to donate:

http://www.stbaldricks.org/events/hairfreez

14 thoughts on “Brave the Shave: Quilt Edition

  1. What a fabulous contribution to preventing Cancer in Kids. We all know someone who has been touched by cancer. What a beautiful quilt for such a worthy cause. Well done! Marie (mlismore@optusnet.com.au)

  2. What an amazing idea, Ashley! And a beautiful quilt. A worthy use of that Amy Butler.

    I am glad I am not shaving my head. Your sister IS brave!

  3. The quilt top turned out beautifully. I hope you keep us updated on how much your sis raises. She’s definitely brave for shaving her head!

  4. Well, sign me up! Because OF COURSE I need another quilt! And OF COURSE I want to support finding a cure for cancer–you know why? Because fuck cancer, that’s why. When my friend Jessica found out she had cancer (a pediatric bone cancer at 26), some of her friends shaved their heads, but I didn’t, because I made her a quilt–a quilt made from fabric from all of her friends and family, and that lasted a lot longer than my hair being shaved! She died in November and I still think of her daily.

  5. Sign me up!!! Donated in honor of my brother, Dave! And I want one of your quilts so bad. Love the fabric choices!!

  6. Ashley, the quilt top is darling and your sister is going to look fabulous with a shaved head (it is the great bone structure!). What a good cause you are both supporting.

  7. Just donated to a wonderful cause. Anytime little ones are involved, count me in!
    thank you for sharing the quilt and your sister.

  8. Pingback: Give and get lucky | melintheattic

  9. Pingback: The Aftermath of a Finished Quilt | Quasi-Quilter

Comments make my day!

