She’s so Lucky, She’s a Star

*Ten points if you get the title reference

I am one lucky girl.  My wonderful friend, Michelle, over at Factotum of Arts had a fabulous one year Blogiversary celebration.  Not only did she have a great giveaway, but she also surprised the top 5 commenters on her blog with a $25.00 gift card to Etsy.  I know, she’s awesome.  Wait for it, I’m one of those lucky 5!  I was so shocked – and I stayed up super late trying to think of what I most wanted to put this towards.  I know that I want to keep whatever I make, because I’ll always think of Michelle.  Plus, with school starting I’m realizing I need a SIMPLE project.  So… wait for it… I decided on buying Flea Market Fancy (because a girls gotta have all the Denyse Schmidt she can get) and I’m going to make a String Quilt for a picnic blanket.  Oh. my. gosh.  I’m so excited.  Denyse and string quilt could only be made more exciting by being a gift.  Michelle, you are the best!

Now this is making me excited for my own first Blogiversary….

This weekend I also squeezed in a little bit of quilting.  Thanks in part to the rain I was able to finish quilting Portholes.  I am so happy that my vision came together and I love the final look.  Here are some sneak peeks of the quilt before I put on the binding.  Once again, the binding is my favorite part!

Image

Image

Image

How much do you love that back?  Fabulous.  I’m pretty sure quilting is about to hit a major stand still, but I am determined to finish at least two more quilts this month.  I. can. do. it.  If I put it out there, surely I will achieve it, right?!

Be sure to check back for my next post – post 100!  I have a pretty sweet giveaway, and I’m looking forward to sharing some quilty love after so much has been given to me!

22 thoughts on “She’s so Lucky, She’s a Star

  1. It’s Britney, B****.

    But the quilt! Great, great quilting. I love it when the quilting makes sense with the design. And the madras back! I’d use it as a double-sided quilt it’s so cute.

    What a great idea to award top commenters! I’m glad you won.

  2. OF COURSE. “But she cry, cry, cries in her lonely heart, thinking…”
    As soon as I saw it, the song went off in my head. Gee, thanks, girl!
    Your circle are fab. REALLY! You did a great job! Hats off to you. Have a great week with your students and the fish!

  3. Ok, now after seeing those port holes I think Forest IS being too critical about those circles. 😉 First, it’s for a baby–who will love it for it’s beauty and entertainment value (and so will the mom!), second you’re still new to a lot of quilting stuff and circles are hard! I think the quilt is great, and such a sweet gift! Can’t wait to see the binding, haha. As soon as I saw the back I was like, “yep, that’s Ashley!”

  4. This turned out soooo good 🙂 The quilting is amazing! Did you mark it or eyeball it? FMQ? And tomorrow will be my 100th post as well 🙂 Giveaway up in my place!

  5. Tell Forrest he’s full of baloney. (I’m sure you already have ha.) The quilting looks great from here! The backing looks like you haven’t washed it yet. Wash it. Then ask him if he still thinks you need the special Tim Gunn save.

    I’m still nuts about the backing you chose. It’s so perfect for this! Preppy and cute little-boy without being so…dull. Congrats on #99! Best wishes for 99 more!

  6. This is just so gorgeous! I love the portholes theme and I love the quilting. I also think the back is really fun. I’m sure if you set your mind to it you can definitely get two more quilts done – and I can’t wait to see what binding you’ve chose to set this quilt off!

  7. Fabulous stuff Ashley and so perfectly timed. Our local Project Linus Chapter put out a call for Ocean/beach themed quilts and I was so stumped as what to do. Then I see your quilt and I am so inspired. Thank you.

  8. I love me some Britney! 😀 I look forward to seeing your porthole quilt finished. It is so adorable and I love what you have done with the quilting!

  9. First of you are so sweet, second love the idea of the picnic blanket and third I love how the quilt turned out it is like rain on water with the drops and ripples moving out. Love it!!!

  10. Loving this quilt. Your portholes turned out perfectly! But I do hold you responsible for having Brit Brit stuck in my head all day 🙂

Comments make my day!

