A Quilt is a Hug

Image

Earlier this year, one of my best friends moved overseas with her husband.  Even though we haven’t lived in the same city for six years (where is the time going?!), we always managed to spend weekends with each other which made it manageable.  Now that she’s literally half a world away, and 1/2 a day either ahead of me or behind me (I can never remember), I feel her absence so much more acutely than ever before, but also value her friendship more than I ever have.  So, what does a best friend need?  A quilt.  Which is really a hug.  A quilt is a hug.  I just need to hug my best friend.  Really, I just need to sit on her ridiculously comfy couch, eat wheat thins, and watch Castle; but, let’s not get too crazy.

So, here is the love that I am sending to her and her husband.  I love you both, oh so very much!

Image

I started this quilt forever ago using Christa’s amazing tutorial, and I love how it turned out.

Image

I cannot put into words how much I love this back.

I think if I could only buy one fabric, that this Anna Marie Horner Totem print would be it.

Is there anything more perfect?

Oh, and some of you might have noticed.  The quilt I made myself this summer has a “matching” back.  This is intentional.  That’s how BFFs roll.

Image

Up close and personal with the quilting.

Image

Have I told you lately how much I love Denyse Schmidt?  Because this Shelburne Falls binding is out of control.

Image

I still can’t get over the fact that I have a label.

Image

All folded, ready to ship.

Mags, I hope you know just how much I love you, pray for you, and think of you.   Every time you see this, know that each stitch was made with you on my mind, and I have sent you a piece of my heart.  I love you both dearly, I miss you more than words, and I’m so thankful that 17 years ago we made our first friendship notebook like the amazing middle school girls we were.  Thanks for always having my back, but ignoring the back of my unbrushed hair.

A hug is on its way.

Final Quilt Stats

  • 56 in x 66 inches
  • Charming Chevron Pattern by Christa
  • Kona Charm Pack: Brights
  • Binding: Shelburne Falls, Deco Dot in Willow, by Denyse Schmidt
  • Backing: Totem in Grapefruit (Anna Marie Horner) and Sunspots in Mint (Amy Butler)
  • Quilted by Me on my Bernina 215

 

27 thoughts on “A Quilt is a Hug

  1. Way to give a gal the warm fuzzies on a rainy Friday the 13th!! This is a beautiful quilt, Ashley, and the only thing better than making a quilt for a friend is getting a quilt from a friend. That binding makes me crazy. I need that print!!

  2. Sounds like a song – Think of you, pray for you. Poetic post dear. Love you and love this quilt. It looks like a hug.

  3. Your post made me cry! Your quilt is beautiful and I just know your friend is going to love it. Quilts really are hugs and this will be such a wonderful one for your Bestie!

  4. This quilt turned out great! I’ve been admiring Anna Marie Horner’s Totem print and I think it was a perfect selection for the back of this quilt.

  5. Beautiful, Ashley, really beautiful. I am still in awe of how you have embraced the quilting part of the process and I strive to one day have machine binding as perfect as yours.

  6. How awesome! My bestie lives half way across the country and we send each other a quilt every other year. Such an awesome way to have a piece of your friend when they can not be near.

  7. You did an awesome job…love it and I love the backing as well. Your friend will be delighted. It will be even more special because she is far from home!

  8. I know what you mean. I sent a quilt to my best friend today. She’s 3500 kms away from me!
    Your quilt is simply beautiful. Love all the colors. Congrats!

  9. It turned out so wonderful! She is going to L.O.V.E. it! I love how you did the lines in the corners, my lines always wrap around, so I think that little diamond detail is great!

  10. Pingback: Cheers to The Year I Started Quilting | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

