One Dish Burrito

Friends, I’ve done it again!  I cooked a meal.  “She lives!” my husband rejoices.  After eating out way too many meals this week, I decided to cook last night.  Let’s just say: God bless you, Pinterest.  Especially after last weekend’s meal of cereal, (that shall not be named) I figured we were due for a home-cooked recipe.  I found this wonderful recipe for a salsa chicken casserole.  And, well, you know me, I kinda sorta followed the directions.

Ingredients:

  • 2 15 oz. cans of corn (I used one because I couldn’t get one to open…?)
  • 2 15 oz. cans of black beans
  • 4 chicken breast
  • 2 jars of Medium salsa (I wanted to go hot, but the hubs chickened out)
  • 1 McCormicks seasoning package (da bomb impulse purchase)
  • Family sized box of yellow rice (my favez)
  • 2 cup bag of cheeeeese

(This was enough for my husband and I to have 2 dinners and 1 lunch.  We’re hearty eaters.)

Image

So, basically you dump this stuff in a glass casserole dish.  You should probably PAM it as I did not and now I have to do the dishes.  No, I’m not kidding.  You drain the beans/corn, dump everything in, and mix it all around.  Yep, the rice is UNCOOKED.  I hear you, I thought it was nuts, too, but we survived!

Image

Mix it all around and top it off with the raw chicken.  Don’t touch that nasty stuff and wash your hands!  I hate raw meat.  Hate, hate, hate.  Cover this with foil, pop it in the oven for, ehhhh, 50 minute on 375, and go read a book.  Or quilt.  Yes, quilt.  Then, take off the foil and bake it for another 5 minutes.

Image

See – it cooked!

I’m a believer!!!

Top this off with cheese, and open up a cold one (which I forgot!)

Image

This was quite possibly the easiest meal, and the husband was quite happy and decided he could “keep me after all.”  He dubbed this the burrito in a dish.  “Honey, this is like a burrito all in one dish.  Next time we could add lime, sour cream, and even those tortilla strips on top if we wanted to get fancy.”

Easy there, buddy, or you’re back to eating cereal.

*Feel free to spice it up with those add-ons, but it’s excellent as is!

 

3 thoughts on “One Dish Burrito

  1. Looks super tasty! Another parent at dance class keeps raving about all the amazing crockpot recipes she uses from Pinterest – I guess it’s good for more than just quilting ideas! 😉

  2. “Couldn’t get one to open…” PMSL! Okay, we could never be married because we would starve. We’d have to get a third partner to cook for us. It sounds like our culinary skills are about the same so I’m loving your recipes because I can totally relate to them. Fortunately, Mr. Sparkles is an awesome cook and I stay well fed. If he is gone for work for any length of time I just eat cereal, and I love it. What’s your favorite?!?

Comments make my day!

