Seeing Red

Another Friday, another finish.  I will probably never have this many Friday finishes in a row ever again.  I started this quilt back this summer and it will always remain one that I cherish the memories I made while making it.  My Mammaw helped me iron, and piece all the blocks, my Grandma sat and talked to me while I cut it, and even my Pappaw ironed and sewed a few blocks.  I’ll always treasure these memories and I’m so glad that I’ll be sending this quilt off this weekend.  My mom asked me to make this for a wonderful family friend who celebrated her 75th birthday this past February.  At the time I had not made a finished quilt, so I’m glad my mom trusted that I would eventually learn!

Image

Image

I’m so glad I finished this quilt in the fall.  It was meant to be photographed in the changing leaves!

Image

Here’s an up close look at the quilting:

Image

It took me forever to decide how to quilt this one, and my husband came to the rescue with the large X idea.  Thanks, boo.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I can’t wait to mail this off this weekend, and I’m linking Big Red up to all the Friday Linky Parties 🙂

32 thoughts on “Seeing Red

  1. The backing and binding fabric go beautifully! I love the shot of the quilt overlooking the water, with the sin shining through. Gorgeous.

  2. Your quilt looks great. I have been trying to finish some that have been WIP’s for ages!! The trees with autumn colours make a great background for your quilt. Well done.

  3. I love this time of year when finishes inevitably come! This is a great one! You can’t beat such a classic red and white quilt.
    I hope you get to keep the next quilt your whole family works on!!

  4. Love your photos especially the 5th one – the profile of the quilt and then the next one with the fall sun and the water in the background. Your title and your quilt remind me of the Spilt Enz song (a kiwi band that is the prequel to Crowded House in some ways)..I see red, I see red. 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend Ashley 🙂 A great finish!!

  5. Love this! Especially the binding and backing fabric! And you’re right, this quilt was definitely made for a Fall finish with the changing leaves and the amazing natural golden light that seems to only happen this time of year.

  6. What a sweet quilt. I love that your grandparents helped you along in the process for this one – those are some memories you’ll treasure for sure.

  7. First, let me say, I love how you photograph your quilts. Just when I think you can’t top yourself, you do. The leaves did give you a nice assist too 🙂

    I enjoyed reading about the other contributors to the quilt, and in my opinion, you can’t go wrong with a red and white top. One of my favorite throw quilts is white and red. And, the backing — delicious!

  8. Love it! And really love the backing fabric!!!! And love that Forrest contributed to the quilting. Okay, overuse of the word LOVE. But I just do.

  9. Pingback: Cheers to The Year I Started Quilting | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

