Back at it…

 Last night my fortune cookie said, “You won’t appreciate the water until the well has dried up.”

Oh, how very true.  For 28 years I’ve enjoyed the wisdom and love from four wonderful grandparents.  It was one of those blessings that I knew I should be thankful for, and I was, but I see now that I didn’t fully appreciate just how much of a treasure I had in these four amazing people.  Last Friday morning my grandfather passed away.  Even though I knew that his time was coming, and even though I had said goodbye, written him a letter, spoken to him two nights before and heard, “I love you, honey.  I love you, darlin’.  I love you, sweetie.”  I wasn’t ready.

How can you ever be ready?

This space is a creative outlet, a place to showcase what I make for those that I love.  It’s not usually a place that I air my grief.  I just felt like I couldn’t post about quilting without mentioning my grandfather’s passing.  It didn’t feel authentic to post about my newest quilt without mentioning why I had been absent for the past two weeks.  I do know that I am lucky to have had 28 years to learn from him, especially since in my younger years I was not as in tune with the wisdom his life had to offer.  I am also forever grateful to have so many memories from the past few summers where I went home during summer vacation.  Thank God I made the choice to be a teacher.  

Last night I decided I needed some therapy time with my sewing machine (isn’t quilting such great therapy?) and I pulled out my Honey Honey quilt top.  It’s time to be finished had come.

Image

Then, as I was basting this quilt my quilting pattern completely changed, and I am so excited to finish this one now.  I decided to mark the quilt lines, and it was worth the extra time.

Image

Image

I can’t wait to show you the back and the binding I have chosen for this quilt.  It is all coming together so beautifully.  Thank you to all of you who sent me words of love and comfort over the past few days.  I am even more thankful for the quilting community, and for the therapy this craft brings to my life.  

 

19 thoughts on “Back at it…

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. Think of this way: you are paying forward the love you have received from him in your quilt. Whoever receives it will experience some small share of what he has given you. Make the love grow, put a little bit of your love for him into everything you make. It’s a beautiful quilt, and I’m looking forward to seeing it finished.

  2. I am so sorry Ashley for your loss especially this close to the holidays. It makes the holiday hard. Anything you need let me know.

    I love your quilt and the best thing is that you will always remember your Grandfather ever time you snuggle with it or see it. 🙂

  3. Sending prayers for comfort to you and your family during this time of grief. Be glad you had time to tell him you loved him, and remember his words to you. This will be with you always. Your quilt is very pretty. And, yes, it is wonderful therapy. Have a blessed Christmas.

  4. I am so very sorry for your loss. Similar to your story, my grandfather (or “Pappy” as I called him) held and still holds a special place in my heart. He passed away when I was only 9 years old, but still to this day I know that he watches over me just as your grandfather will do for you. 🙂 Your quilt is absolutely beautiful and I am happy that you got in some great quilting therapy. It always makes me feel better.

  5. Your quilt is lookin’ beauuutiful! So sorry to hear of your grandfather, even when you’re “ready” it is an overwhelming loss to your life.

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your grandfather! I have one grandparent left, so I understand the feeling of loss.

  7. So sorry to learn of your loss. You’re right, you can never be ready, but what a great way to honor your grandfather’s memory with your beautiful quilt. Blessings to you.

  8. So sad to hear about your grandfather.. but glad you had a strong bond with him and had time to say goodbye. Grandpas are so special, especially to their granddaughters.

  9. I’m so sorry to hear about your grandfather, Ashley. I hope you can find comfort in your memories and I’m glad to see you can channel your loss into something to beautiful!

  10. My sympathy and prayers are with you for the loss of your grandfather. Grandparents are special people!! Good-bye is never easy–even if you knew it was coming.

    Cannot wait to see your finished quilt! I really like the top–I wish I could be brave and use more white in my quilts, but I know they won’t stay white at my house.

  11. Ashley was so sad to hear about your beautiful Grandfather!! Nothing can ever prepare us for the loss of a loved one! It is the lifetime of memories that come rushing in after they have gone! Life would be a sorry place if you had never met him! Xxx

Comments make my day!

