A Whole New “Terrain”

Since I started quilting I have adored each line Kate Spain has produced.  I’ve made a quilt with her Honey, Honey line and I am currently finishing up my Cuzco quilt.  One line that came out before I started quilting was Terrain and we all know that I would have bought that up if I could have.  This summer I did hoard some of this print:

Kate Spain for Moda, Terrain, Stonecrop in Bloom

Delicious.

I didn’t know what I wanted to make with it, but I knew that I wanted to pull out the colors – hello, cerise, I see you….

This weekend inspiration hit when I least needed it, but I went through my Stash Stack Club fabrics and had at it.  Y’all.  Mixing fabrics is FUN!  I usually stick to one fabric line, but this has opened up a whole new terrain for me – haha, get it?!

Image

(Do you see all of my erasure marks?  hahahaha)

I choose four fabrics in each color, and I quickly went out at it with the cutter, and had the rectangles cut in no time.  Watching The Real Housewives made the time pass by quickly and it was exciting waiting to see if what I pictured came out.

Image

Hello, gorgeous.

Image

Now I’m going to have to organize the strips so that I don’t get confused while chain piecing… which we all would not be surprised if that happened. I’m so excited to see this quilt top take shape, and I love how bright these fabrics are.  Oh, and the Terrain fabric is going to be the backing fabric.  Don’t worry.  It’s not getting left out!

By the way, this Thursday is the one year anniversary of Wasn’t Quilt in a Day – be sure to come back for some awesome giveaways!

31 thoughts on “A Whole New “Terrain”

  1. I love how bright and cheery this is! I think it is fun when you can find other colors/lines to supplement a favorite piece or two from a line. Can’t wait to see it finished!

  2. You are so fast! Do you really have a job? I’m getting suspicious. I love the colors you pulled out of your inspiration print! And I like how you included the darker orange/red print. And I just realized that’s probably AMH. No wonder I love it. 🙂

  3. Mostly importantly…which city?!? These colours are amazing. Are all the rectangles the same size. How are you gonna finish the bottom of the strips? I may have to make one like this…

  4. I read on another blog recently about how folks these days get so bogged down in using one particular line for a quilt and how so many “new” quilters can’t put fabrics from multiple lines together because they’ve become a little too dependent on manufacturers doing it for them. I mostly agree with the sentiment and don’t often do whole line quilts, and this is why. Your combination of colors and patters is wonderful. I would encourage you to branch out more and stretch your creativity by choosing fabrics based on how they go together instead of if they are all part of a line, I think that you will find that when you do, the results are fabulous! This is your proof!

  5. I think you’ve made great choices for both colour and pattern. I very rarely mix whole ranges – I’ll buy maybe one or two from a range at a time. Mainly it’s because I just don’t like all of them. This quilt is a great example of why you don’t need to!

  6. I love all of Kate Spain’s fabric lines too!! Although I can’t buy them all 😦
    Your new pattern is refreshing and really emphasizes each fabric colour and print beautifully!!! Great job mixing lines too! Thanks for sharing!

  7. It’s always fun playing the fabric match game. Glad to see experiments are going well for you.

    And really … somehow I’m not surprised that you’d choose the print with the cerise accents in it. Should have expected that.

  8. I still have bits and scraps of Terrain left from a quilt I made a while back. I LOVE when I get to put the scraps to use – they just make me happy. Terrain is an ALL time favorite of mine too. Love your quilt!!

  9. Is it sad that I can recognize most the fabrics in there :-). I love it….I am with Sarah….I have no idea woman, how you are rocking these all out with your day job as well…..Must be wonder woman!! Love the colors and your choices…great use of your stash.

  10. Wow that was a quick year for you huh?? Never participated in a giveaway but I might be tempted. Even if I am too far away to participate. Your quilt looks gorgeous. I’m particularly loving the design, pattern, is it your’s? Looks simple to cut. Sorry I am a bit behind on your posts! Maybe you have already posted about it.
    But reading backwards the post as they come through my wordpress.

  11. Do you ever sleep? Good grief, you are one productive chick! 😎 That Terrain print is gorgeous. I too am just starting to mix fabrics instead of sticking to one line and it is so much more fun. Can’t wait to see more of this quilt cuz I’m lovin’ it!

  12. Fabulous! So bright and cheery! Terrain came out right when I discovered the magical world of online fabric, but alas, I didn’t get any. Can’t wait to see that top finished!

  13. This is such a lovely use of colour. I like the mix of yellow and orange in particular. And the Kate Spain backing will be perfect (I was looking at the quilt thinking… Where did the fabric go. Lol. Silly me). And I’m glad to see that you’re using your stash club picks. I’ve been having them delivered, but haven’t used too much of them yet, so seeing them I use gives me confidence in my participation in the club.
    E xx

  14. Ashley! So creative, smart, and fun. Love it. Way to go!

    A little new year organizing led me to create a few bundles of my Terrain yardage (had been in storage for years) … and I have them for sale up on shopkatespain now. Best! kate

  15. Terrain is a favorite of mine too – the ONLY fq stack I have every purchased. I first used it to make a full-size Swoon quilt, which is still one of my very favorites! I love that you made your own collection – lovely!!

  16. Pingback: A Whole New Terrain | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

