WiP Wednesday

You guys, you guys. Alert. Alert. This is going to be the year of FMQing. My January goal is to finish up my Cuzco quilt top. It took me a while to decide how to quilt it, mainly because the chevrons don’t match up at the top and bottom of the blocks. So, I went with stippling!

20140108-074015.jpg

20140108-074052.jpg

I’m loving the texture this is creating, even if you can’t really see it.

20140108-074350.jpg

20140108-074515.jpg

I will say that once I got in the groove it became so much easier to move. It was fun to figure out the random pattern and where to go next.

I love how the stippling looks on the back!

20140108-074737.jpg

I’m so happy that I tried stippling- this wont be the last time!

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow for my blogiversary giveaway!

24 thoughts on “WiP Wednesday

  1. Look at that FMQ! I’m mulling over taking the FMQ Basics class at my LQS later this month and your post is definitely inspiring me to bite and do it! I bet the stippling looks really cool against the structured chevrons.

  2. I’m working on stippling my first self-FMQ-ed baby quilt right now! I might have started with too small of a stipple because it’s taking me days to get it done!

  3. It’s looking great. As someone who has not yet braved FMQ, I have a question. Is it faster to get a quilt done with a pattern like stipples than by doing something like stitching in the ditch?

  4. I think you are inspiring to go and test out that machine you’ve got and get FMQ’ing. And I was just sitting here on my couch doing some hand quilting and thinking how much I love it and wouldn’t want to do anything else!

  5. oh man I hope you are sending this one to me, I looove the colors and the pattern and the quilting looks great! I do love the way stippling adds gentle little hills and fun patterns.

  6. It looks great! I just branched out for the first time from straight line quilting and did organic wavy lines on a maples quilt that I made for Christmas–it turned out so cute and is a great pattern to break up straight lines. If you want to see what I’m talking about, I’ll link the tutorial I followed to get the hang of it (in a separate comment). The bonus was that it went SUPER fast. The lines turned out better the faster I sewed!!

  7. Man…oh…man–I really need to give it a try!! Maybe I need to get a new machine to help me out in the FMQ department 😉

    **I’m a little envious of how fast you manage to complete things 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  8. I am totally in awe of your stippling! You have done an amazing job! I will definitely have to try but I always stop myself because I’m afraid that I will ruin the quilt!

Comments make my day!

