Friday Finish

Happy Friday, everyone!  I don’t know about you, but I am so ready for the weekend.  Maybe it’s my new obsession with my heated throw.  Don’t forget to enter my Blogiversary Giveaway – you know you want some free fabric!

This quilt is special and dear to my heart for many reasons.  Over Christmas break, I was talking with my mom about how I wanted to make a quilt for my niece.  She turned three yesterday (time is freaking flying) and I really wanted to make her something to let her know how much her uncle and I love her.  This was a quilt I was going to make in the coming year, until I walked into the fabric shop, found a fabric, and designed a quilt on the spot.  Inspiration hit me like a freight train.

Image

Those flowers.  The poppies.  I just had to do it.

Image

I just love bold designs.  Perfection.

Image

The finished quilt!

I mentioned that this quilt was special in many ways – you guys, it’s the first quilt I free-motion quilted on!  I decided to just go for it and I’m so glad I did.  Big Bertha and I were in quilt-at-first-sight with one another, and I love how the flower design added so many charm and texture to the hot pink fabric.

Image

Image

Image

And here’s the back.  Omg – that fabric.  Y’all.  I don’t remember the name.

Image

I decided to do some special stitches with my new machine:

Image

And, as always, here’s the best part: The binding!

Image

There you have it, my second 2014 finish.  I hope this quilt is a special reminder to our sweet niece of how much we love her over the years!  I’m linking this Flower Power quilt up to all the Friday parties – you should too!

25 thoughts on “Friday Finish

  1. Oh, I’ve been there. Fall totally in love with a fabric, have to make something from it RIGHT NOW. I see you haven’t changed your opinion of cerise, then…. Good job it works so well with that fabric! Gorgeous quilt, good start to the year.

  2. So bright and happy. I bet your niece just loves it. How much are you loving your new machine! You’ve hog it some happy stitching happening there. And your fmq is so neat!!! Anything outside of the ditch is too scary for me right now. I’m just going to hunker down in my conpmfort zone for a little bit longer 😛
    E xx

  3. Hi Ashley, happy belated blogiversary. I wanted to wish you this yesterday, but your post wasn’t up when I was on wordpress, due to the time difference!! You have been such an inspiration, not only to my learning to quilt so many months ago but also to starting a blog. I remember when this girl can learn to quilt and start writing such a nice blog, then I can do it too! Just so glad you’re on wordpress because I only follow my wordpress blogers daily. Haven’t sorted out my blogroll of blogs I love yet so it’s pretty difficult to follow the others I really love on a daily basis.

    So when are you going to stop teaching and start quilting professionally? That’s just a joke.

    Jodie

  4. Second finish?! ::hangs head in shame:: Lady–that quilting looks awesome! I love the mix of flowers and loops. It is such a great pattern for that quilt, I’m sure any three old girl would loooveee it!

  5. What a great quilt. I love your choice of fabrics, the colours are so vibrant and the flower prints are just stunning. I am also blown away by your fmq, I can only hope that mine will someday be that good. Your’re defintitely a natural quilter.

Comments make my day!

