Home Stretch

Today I’m here to celebrate binding with you.  There is something about this step that gets me every single time.  I love seeing the finished quilt come together.  There is nothing like sewing the last stitch and immediately snuggling up under a quilt you’ve created!

ImageImageImageImage

Again, I used my machine binding method that you can find the tutorial for here, and I was able to knock this out in less than 2 hours.  I can find hand stitching therapeutic, but for larger quilts I prefer to machine bind my quilts to save my sanity.

How do you feel about this binding choice – my husband isn’t sold… YET, but I know he will be when he sees it completely finished!

Anyone else finishing up a quilt for tomorrow?!

12 thoughts on “Home Stretch

  1. It’s always nice to get a quilt finished. I love to machine bind quilts I plan to use or don’t plan to enter in shows. Sometimes done is better than done by hand.

  2. I don’t like the binding fabric on it’s own, but it works perfectly as a binding .. kind of like a different sort of stripe, I guess, when you can’t see the gingham checks.

    Can’t wait to see the finished thing!

  3. I too am skeptical–but in a good way. I know your style is sooo different than mine, but it works! I love seeing the combinations you come up with. I love the binding process too, that last step that turns all that fabric into a quilt! Once I get off the computer I will be finishing the quilting on my secrety quilt, and then binding the train mini–so hopefully a finish for tomorrow!

  4. If I work hard today, I’ll be finishing the quilting on the Tree of Life. Then I get to do my binding too, but I’ll be going with the hand stitched finish, so I won’t finish the whole thing before probably Sunday. It’ll be a blessed relief, I’m loving this quilt, but it has taken such a big chunk of time.

  5. I’m 50/50 on machine binding. I do love how much faster it is, and I’ve been told it more durable than hand stitching the binding, but I love the invisible ness of hand sewn binding. I’ve taken to machine binding the practical objects (mats, etc) for speed, but I haven’t convinced myself on a quilt proper yet.
    E xx

  6. I finished a quilt today too! But I didn’t get out to get it photographed. There’s no room with all this snow! But I can’t wait to see this one all done. LOVE the quilting.

Comments make my day!

