The Sisterhood of the Traveling Quilts

Well, if this wasn’t one of the best decisions I’ve ever made in my life, I don’t know what is.  Joining this fabulous group of ladies has already proven to be so much fun – and I can’t wait to see what we come up with next.  You can read more about each member at their blogs,and I highly recommend book marking all of these blogs as they are some of my absolute favorites. 

Stephanie of www.spolgarquilts.wordpress.com

Ashley of www.wasntquiltinaday.wordpress.com

Laura of www.littleandlots.wordpress.com

Jess of www.quiltyhabit.blogspot.com

Renee of www.quiltsofafeather.com

This month I got to work on Jess’ quilt.  I’ve shared about Jess before – but I just love her.  She recently made me a beautiful wall hanging  It took me a while to focus in on what I wanted to add to her started.  This quilt was difficult for me: partially because her color scheme includes all of my favorite colors, and partially because her directions were open to any blocks.  Well, eventually I narrowed in on Churn Dash blocks – and THEN she wrote a post about how they were her favorite blocks.  Welllllll, hey, I can read your mind, Jess!

I decided to narrow down the colors I contributed to hot pinks and purples (her favorite!)

Image

Plus, I know she loves AMH just as much as me 🙂

Image

Then I chain pieced away forever.

And finished three blocks:

Image

Tonight I’ll be putting these little pieces into mini 3 inch churn dash blocks:

Image

Image

I hope she loves these churn dash blocks!

There’s something incredibly fun and inspiring about contributing to a round robin style quilt.  I love seeing the inspiration quilters start with and trying to add cohesive parts.

NOW.  Here’s some amazing stuff for your eyes.  I’ve talked about Renee over at Quilts of a Feather before.  She was definitely the first quilty friend that I made, and she has been so generous, loving, and supportive of me.  She is truly a wonderful friend, and I have been so inspired by her quilts.  Like, you should have already clicked on her link by now to be inspired. (No, really.  Do it!)  She’s sent me a beautiful wall hanging that inspired me to try FMQing, and randomly surprises me with awesome fabric – which now resides as pillows in my house!   Well, this month she had my quilt starter. 

Y’ALL.  I thought I loved my quilt starter…

Here it is on Renee’s wall… pretty, right?

Wait for it.

Is she a genius, or is she a genius?!

She posted snapshots of her work as she went on Instagram so I thought I was prepared to see what she created.  Not even close.  When I saw the final product of her work this month, my mouth literally dropped.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone over to her blog to look at this picture, but I will say that she has completely made my month with this beautiful work.  This is beyond anything I could have ever imagined, and I love where she took this quilt.  I love everything about this, from the fussy cuts, to the fabrics, to the low-volume fabrics she used.   You can read about her process here.

So, tell me.  Are you inspired to join a round robin quilt bee now? 

As for me, I better go back to work on Jess’ because Renee’s work has inspired me even more…

17 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Quilts

  1. Renee’s work is definitely awesome! And how cool that you came up with the perfect block – I love it when things work out so well. This sisterhood must really be a great match for everyone involved!

  2. I agree – this was one of the best quilty decisions I ever made (along with going to my first MQG meeting!). It’s meant to be! It’s wayyy too funny that you read my mind about churn dashes 😉

  3. Love those bright churn dashes. And wow, your starter is off on a magnificent journey… I’ve tried Round Robins before, and they just stress me out 😦 I am so happy to see you getting such wonderful enjoyment from yours!

  4. Wow… the medallion approach she took with your starter is AMAZING you lucky girl! A quilt round robin sounds like so much fun, and I love following all your progress over the blogs 🙂

  5. I’m so glad I joined it, it’s been so fun so far! I think having fairly open rules about what to add helps a lot. Somehow I knew Jess’s favorite block was a churn dash before this most recent announcement of it–I think she’s mentioned it before, so maybe that leaked into your subconscious! I’m totally planning a churn dash block or two for her quilt, so I can’t wait to see what you do with yours!

  6. Wow, I can see why you are so excited. That is beyond stunning!! Your churn dash blocks for your friend are super cute too.

  7. Ummmmm this is amazing. And what Renee did? Uh-mazing. I officially just joined my first (also, in real life) bee and seeing what you ladies have been up to makes me all the more excited about what’s in store for our little group of local talent. Can’t wait to see more of these popping up!

Comments make my day!

