To Have and to Hold

Image

Photo Credit: Story Photographers

This guy.

I don’t think he knew that when he said his vows, that he knew it actually meant holding up quilts and not me… he’s handled my obsession hobby well, even though I spend quite a bit of time away from him and with Big Bertha.  I’ve been playing around with the idea of making Forrest a quilt since I started, and I had it all planned out.  A bookshelf quilt.  However, he then saw a quilt that Sarah over at Georgia Girl Quilts had made, and he said, “That’s awesome; do you think you could make that?”  Well, when he loves something, I run with it!  That night I bought a layer cake of comma and a ton of low volume fabrics that reminded me of his personality.  Then I stashed it away…  and stashed it away.  Today he finally has his own quilt.

I have loved the entire process of making this quilt.

Image

And the back!

Image

I had so much fun picking out all of the low volume fabrics…

Image

See the ironing fabric… he.irons.everything.  I walk around a wrinkled mess.

Marriage.

Image

I love the texture of the square quilting!

Image

Image

And, finally, a secret message in the quilting:

Image

There aren’t enough words for me to tell my husband how much I love the way he loves me.  So, I made him a quilt to have and to hold.

32 thoughts on “To Have and to Hold

  1. Tears in my eyes. Every quilt is stitched with love but I know this one was stitched with so much more than that. Xo

  2. I love this quilt and the story behind it!
    When the men in your life show an interest in your habit you’ve definitely gotta run with it 🙂

  3. I’m late to this posting as I’ve been away. What is the fabric name for the number fabric you used on the back? I’ve been looking for fabrics with numbers and haven’t seen this one? Thanks. Love the quilt!

  4. I love this one! I am especially loving the low volume fabrics, with my favorite being the glasses. Maybe you could sneak some quilt blocks into the rest of his ironing? I put my boyfriend to work helping me iron my quilt blocks and now he quilts, too!

Comments make my day!

