The Greatest Gift

I’ve said it a million times, and if you’re a part of this quilting community already, you know it’s true.  This community has the most generous spirit.  I’m saying.  When I first started this blog I was so nervous about commenting on other blogs, and I thought that I would maybe make 2 friends.  Um, now it’s 2 times a lot of joy in my life.  In fact, over the past week my husband and I have had this conversation 3 times.

Hubs:  A package came for you today.  I think you’re really starting to get out of control with this fabric situation.

Me: Oh, that’s a gift from a friend!  I’m so excited to come home!

Seriously! 

Today I want to share one of the sweetest gifts ever.  For the past few months I’ve been cheering on Michelle from Factotum of Arts with a Chicopee pillow she’s been making.   Of course, I cheer on basically everything she makes because it’s awesome, but that’s beside the point.  (We all know I’m a little …. hyper/obsessed/charming?)  Unbeknownst to me, she decided to make.it.for.me.  Me!  There are so many reasons that this is special, but numero uno would have to be that she is the reason that I made my first pillow.  Seriously.  I still remember stalking her blog and loving the pillows she was making back in the early days of both of our blogs.  I reached out to her (shyly) and she hooked me up with a lot of tutorials.  Whenever I see the pillows in my house I already think of her, and now I have this.  Also, her workmanship is something to aspire to.  I just won’t put hers next to any of mine…. hahahaha.

Image

Doesn’t it look perfect?!!!!

Did I mention that she also bought the pillow form from Crate and Barrel and had it shipped to my house?!  Like, it doesn’t get better than that.  This pillow could not have come at a more perfect time.  We just finished up 6 weeks of really hard work at school and my students worked so hard.  Which inevitably means I had to work hard to keep up.  When I saw this on my doorstep I can’t even explain how much my heart exploded. 

And this was tucked away inside, too:

Image

SAY WHAT?!

BFFFFFFFFL.

Here’s a better shot from Michelle’s blog, because I want you to be able to see the pillow in all it’s glory!  I was too busy snuggling in all my Chicopee to take another picture 🙂

DSChicopeePillow

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, the people I’ve met through quilting are the best gift I could have ever found.  Love you, Michelle!  Thank you so much for creating the perfect gift for me and knowing just when I needed some love!

8 thoughts on “The Greatest Gift

  1. What a sweet, sweet gift. I bet Michelle will be equally excited to see what you make from that stack of lovelies that she sent. I love how in the quilting world, if we give someone a tip, or post a tutorial, or send a bit of fabrics, it’s like the gift that keeps on giving in cyclical fashion because then we’re thrilled to see what the person makes of it.

  2. That’s one gift we all knew would be well received! Chicopee addict receives large hit. And it’s good for you to see quilted loveliness also comes without pink! Enjoy snuggling your new pillow.

Comments make my day!

