Quilts and Color

Quilters affect eternity; they can never tell where their influence stops.

Over Memorial Day weekend I was able to go visit my family in Boston.  I’ve been wanting to go since my newest baby cousin was born, and this was the perfect weekend because my grandparents were also going to be visiting from NC.  I knew that while I was there I wanted to sneak away to visit the Quilts and Color exhibit at the Museum of Fine Arts, and I was delighted when my Mammaw said she’d join.  You’ve seen her on the blog before, and you’ll see her again this summer when we finish our Butterfly quilt!  I don’t think I would have enjoyed this exhibit nearly as much without her there beside me.  I think that’s the beauty of quilting.  It truly does bring every one together and creates such a story between generations of quilters.

Here are some of my favorite quilts from the exhibit.  Also, if you live anywhere near Boston, I highly recommend a day trip to see this exhibit!

This quilt was one of my favorites because from far away it looked so simple.

photo 4

However, up close, the quilting was stunning and it made this quilt a show stopper.

photo 1 (3) photo 3

One day I will have hand-quilting skills.  One day.

I wish I had the patience for this next quilt.  All.those.pieces.

photo 2 (3)

Or the patience for this quilt!  Tiny blocks!  This is insane to me!

photo 5 (2)

(Me: “Mammaw, let’s take a picture.” Mammaw: “Sure, we should get a selfie.”)

photo 4 (3)

These next two quilts were two of my favorites.  I’m convinced that I loved them so much because their fabrics reminded me of Denyse Schmidt’s fabric lines.  What do you think?

photo 2 (4) photo 3 (2)

Finally, how could I not swoon over this hexagon quilt.  I mean, really.  It’s PERFECT:

photo 1 (4)

It was incredible to be surrounded by so many quilters and quilt enthusiast discussing the art of quilting.  I left completely inspired, humble, and grateful to be a part of such a rich community.

photo 2

I also left with inspiration for my future living room.  I hope my husband is ready to make this a reality….

photo 3 (4)

Thanks, Mammaw, for going with me to the exhibit, and for always encouraging me to go after what I want.  I’ve learned so much from you already, and I can’t wait to spend time this summer quilting.  Plus, it’s about time you held my hand and taught me to make clothes!

photo 5

(Now, what are you waiting for – go visit!)

12 thoughts on “Quilts and Color

  1. That looks like a great exhibition. I wish I didn’t live so far from anywhere, but it’s a long day’s solid driving to get to our nearest big city. Cute selfies!

  2. Neither of my grandma quilted, though my living grandma did some sewing (of what, I don’t know) and has a beautiful old green sewing machine. I think it’s a Sew Domestic? Or a Domestic Sew Machine? Anyway, it’s awesome your grandma is so involved and interested in quilting and went to a show with you!!

  3. It looks like you had a fantastic time!!Btw I may be up your way once a month or every 6 weeks till the end of the year. I will keep you posted.

  4. What a fabulous exhibition. Those first quilts make me want to just use solids… but the fabulous log cabins knock that nonsense right out of me. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Quilt shows are so much better when you go with someone else. I can only imagine how special it is to go with someone you love who is also a quilter! Thanks for sharing these beautiful quilts.

Comments make my day!

