Soul Blossom Baby Quilt

Last week, I worked on some bee blocks for ScrapBeeLicious, and one of the blocks had me doing applique with petals.  It was on.  Once I got used to the technique, I knew I had to make a quilt I’d seen by Lindsey of LRStitched.  You can find the tutorial here – it’s so easy!

photo 2 (2)

After cutting out all of the petals, I was ready to work on the lay out!  In my mind I was going to use white, just like the tutorial, but then I went and saw a beautiful baby blue in my stash… hmmmmm.  I showed my husband, and his inner modern quilter said, “I think you should use gray.”  He was so right.

photo 1

I made my quilt slightly larger than the tutorial, so I used the center lines to work from the inside out.  I made sure that there were two inches between each circle, and I worked that blue washable marker.  Worked it.

photo 2

photo 3I love this quilt.

I just love it.  Even the ironing part…

photo 4

This quilt also marks the first time I used the blanket stitch on my machine.

Now I want to applique everything.

photo 5

I can’t wait to finish this quilt and list it in my shop later this week!  It just reminds me of summer and has a completely girly vibe.  I love it!

5 thoughts on “Soul Blossom Baby Quilt

  1. I can’t wait to see how you quilt it and bind it! I’m so glad you (or at least your husband 😉 is on board with Grey–is that Kona Ash? I love Kona, but really want to try some of the other brands.

  2. Ooh that’s such a clever design in that you only have two “rows” of stitching for each motif rather than all the way round each petal. Admiring the genius!

Comments make my day!

