Summer Sewing

Whew. This summer has seen an increase in sewing… and a significant decrease in blogging. This is to be expected when I’m with my family – and I hope everyone is enjoying a slower paced existence right now! Last weekend (see – who waits a week?!) I traveled a few hours with my mother to meet up with Michelle over at Factotum of Arts for her Quilt Guild’s July meeting.

Y’all.  Quilty friends are the best.  I loved sitting around with Michelle, gabbing fabric, and talking in quilt block code.  I think my mother  has a bigger picture of our obsessive nature now, and don’t worry – she’s catching the bug and has already sewn up two quilt tops this summer.  I love spreading the illness.  Also.  I got to hang out in her sewing studio, play in her stash, and see all of her WiPs.  HEAVEN.

Michelle took us to two quilt shops – and the first one we pulled up to was the quilt shop where I  bought the fabric for my first quilt 18 years ago.   Crazy.

photo 1 (2)

I’m also proud that we remembered to take a photo this time! (Thanks, mom!)   In a surprising turn of events, I didn’t buy any fabric – much to my mother’s and Michelle’s surprise.  I did buy a book, though.   But, don’t worry, I didn’t walk away empty handed!

Michelle gave me the sample fabric from her new fabric line that she created at Spoonflower.  I cannot wait to turn these fabrics into pillows for my living room.  The colors are perfect – and I love how she used the Elements to create the line and the color choices.  Mom, a high school science teacher, was really smitten.

photo 2 photo 3

photo 4

AND, she gave me a book to prepare for her month in ScrapBeeLicious.  Lucky. Girl.

photo 1

Of course I also left with a new quilt design that Michelle helped me iron out the color scheme and idea for … which I need like I need a hole in my head… haha.  I’m truly so grateful for the friends I’ve made through quilting, and Michelle is such a treasure.  See you soon, Michelle – and counting down until QuiltCon!  Thank you for such an amazing quilty trip and for hosting us and making it such a lovely visit.

And, for those of you who are truly worried about my sanity, don’t worry.  On our trip home we made a quick stop at Joann’s and I found Denyse Schmidt’s Picadilly line… oh lord.  You knew  I couldn’t skip buying fabric completely.

photo 5

See, production is being met, even if blogging is suffering a dry spell this summer.  Multiple pillows, quilts, and even a dress are coming your way soon!  For now, I’m going to go enjoy being home.

photo 2 (2)

This is my backyard.  Do you see why I’m not blogging?  Be sure to stop back tomorrow for my stop of the Orange Peel QAL with Jess over at Quilty Habit.

3 thoughts on “Summer Sewing

  1. And here we were thinking that you weren’t sewing, but just having a summer break. Looking forward to the blogs about your projects. But where is Gypsy Wife…?

  2. You are so welcome and I loved having you visit and share in all the fun!!! I am super excited about the offer of going to paper rock scissors if (when) I come up to visit you 😃

Comments make my day!

