Friday Finish x 2

Holy Moly, I’m back.  Maybe not back to “crazyobsessedashleymustmakeallthequiltsintheworld” back, but definitely back to: I’ve turned on the freaking sewing machine for the first time in 3 months.

And it feels good!

Today I have two finished baby quilts that might have taken for.ever. to make.  But, one made it a few weeks before baby and the other made it the week after baby was born, so it’s still a win, right?

Baby Girl Quilt was a project I worked on this summer with my mom.  She and I picked out the fabric together, the design, and then I was able to cut the quilt and she sewed it together.  Finishing this quilt up made me miss summer and I’m already looking forward to going home again so that I can spend time sewing with her.  I love quilting memories.  It was also an opportunity for me to break out Denyse Schmidt’s Piccadilly line.  I love it.  it’s so adorable!

photo 1We used a simple coin design which left some fun space for me to try out some more FMQing.  My mom requested that I finish off the quilt with daisies, and she was right!

photo 2

photo 5

Just looking at these pictures makes me want to go do some FMQing!  I love the freedom and how it looks when it’s all finished.

photo 3For the back, mom picked out this adorable elephant print to honor the father’s favorite animal!  Adorable.   Welcome to the world, baby L – I can’t wait to meet you!

Then, onto baby boy quilt!  One of my favorite friends from my summers as a camp counselor recently reached out to me to commission a quilt.  I was so honored, and I had so much fun picking fabrics.  She had a few ideas of things she liked, and hopefully she loves this quilt as much as I do!   The pictures aren’t the best because I wasn’t able to get home before the sun went down, and I really just wanted to mail this one off!  I’m proud that I mixed up fabric lines and just used a color scheme.

photo 1 (2)

photo 3 (2)I love the baby blues with the grays.  Especially those hexagons.  I wish I’d bought YARDS of that stuff!

photo 2 (2)I quilted it with my favorite Bernina Stitch 5.  It’s so simple and makes such great texture.  Then, I used the Ikea Britten fabric that just makes everything a little bit more special.

photo 4 (2)It feels good to finish off some projects.  Last night I also finished two month’s of bee blocks to mail off and tonight I’m breaking out the gypsy wife quilt.  HALLELUJAH.

I’ll be linking these babies up to all the Friday parties going on today: TGIFF and Crazy Mom Quilts.  I can’t wait to sit down and read all the other finishes this week.  I’ve really missed quilting, blogging, and my fabric friends.

17 thoughts on “Friday Finish x 2

  1. Glad your back and your baby quilts are adorable. You can’t go wrong with a simple patchwork and the simple design for the girl’s quilt is perfect. I hope you get to schedule some more sew time with mom…always a must. Thanks for linking up with TGIFF! and I can’t wait to see the other projects you have coming soon.

  2. Isn’t it crazy how it takes the first quarter of school before things start to settle down and you can think about something besides all of the paperwork that the state and feds put upon us? I’m assuming that’s why there has been no sewing and blogging in your life – it’s certainly that way in my life! I love November because it seems that things finally slow down a little and I can get in the sewing room. Love the two baby quilts – they will be loved!

  3. Welcome back! We’ve missed you – and pink of every shade – as well. Very cute baby quilts, and well done on that boy quilt that’s so quiet and subtle!

  4. Just perfect. Gifts that will always be a reminder of you and your mom. Gives new meaning to TGIF. Congrats.

  5. Welcome back, your quilts look great!!! Summer is a great time to step away front he sewing machine and spend time making memories, winter is the time to sew

  6. I also just completed a quilt for a baby boy with blues and greys, they really compliment one another and it is a bit different from the average baby boy colours. Love how you made this simple quilt into something that looks fascinating and complicated.

Comments make my day!

