Little Sister’s Quilt

I realized a few weeks ago after a trip back home to NC that I had never shared the quilt that I made this summer for my little sister.  The baby of our family left for college this year, and she kindly let me make her dorm room bedding.  All summer we sewed together…  well, I sewed and she ironed, but I consider that a win in my book.  In the end, I absolutely love the bedding that we created, and I think it’s something that she can love for a long time, and use as she continue to grow older!

Here’s her fabric selection (she has great taste)

photo 1 (2)

We spent all summer laying out blocks, and our mother also helped create an awesome pillow that incorporated clothing from her childhood!

photo 2 (2)

She took off appliqued butterflies from her favorite jeans that my mom had saved from when she was 4 years old so that my mom could create a pillow for her.  It’s adorable.

photo 2 (3)

I made her two more pillows, but I forget to get a final picture of one of them.

photo 1 (3)

(Obsessed)

And of course we made a quilt.  A huge quilt because dorm bed are Twin XL.

photo 5 (2)

(yes, it’s missing binding, because i never took a final photo…)

photo 1

All.  of. that. Straight. Line. Quilting.

Holy God.

photo 3 (3)

But, she loves it, so it’s all worth it.

photo 5

Here we are, in her first ever dorm room, snuggling in  her quilt.  Visiting her and seeing that every day she’s reminded of how much her family loves her makes me so happy.  She’s such a cuddler, so I know this brings her comfort at school.  Sisters really are the best.

photo

Isn’t her dorm room just the cutest?

10 thoughts on “Little Sister’s Quilt

  1. What a fun dorm room! That quilt with those pillows adds SO much personality and fun and pretty! Great backing and binding choice! I bet it is so cozy!

  2. AMH really brings those white bricks to life! (I so remember those too!) Quilting for family has to be the most rewarding. I miss seeing you around as much, so I hope you are still finding enough time to sew to keep you sensibly sane. 😉

  3. How much better is that than a ‘bed in a bag’ from a big box store!!!! She has family love to wrap herself in while she is away from home. I know how special she is to you–I have a sister myself. Nothing better than time spent with a sister. You have given her a priceless gift. Her dorm room is lovely. Thanks for sharing with us.

Comments make my day!

