Quilted Name Tag

The best part of quilting is hands down the community.  I love how much I learn from others, and it is a constant flow of inspiration.  Through Instagram, blogs, pinterest, and my Modern Quilt Guild, I have met so many amazing quilters who continue to not only inspire me, but also encourage me to try new things and keep going.  The North Jersey Modern Quilt Guild issued a challenge for our guild – The Name Tag swap.  I was a little hesitant to sign up because I’m one of the newest quilters, and I don’t know how to bind or finish a project, but I threw caution to the wind and joined in.  Even though it’s not due for a few weeks, I knew I needed to get started pronto because this is a project I can’t turn in late. Only because I’d feel bad for my partner!

For this project, I decided to break into my Notting Hill charm pack:

Image

I love these colors and I thought they’d look perfect for the project I had found.

After searching through endless pinterest and blog posts, I decided to tweak a free tutorial I found on Sew Can She’s tutorial page for a quilted Herringbone Hot Pad.  We all know how much I love anything Herringbone. 

I cut off a few 1.5 inch strips and seperated them by color.

Image

The block came together very quickly.  I kept going with the strips until I knew I was past the size I wanted for my name tag so that I could cut it down to size:

Image

For this project, I only made one half of the Herringbone block because I didn’t need width, but I want to make something larger, maybe a pillow, to showcase the whole block.

Image

Here’s it is quilted (YES, QUILTED!)

Image

Now I need to remember everything my mom taught me about embroidery so that I can embroider my partner’s name!  Of course, I’m also looking up 50 million tutorials on that, too!

I hope you’ve all enjoyed a beautiful spring weekend.

Happy Quilting, friends!

11 thoughts on “Quilted Name Tag

  1. Jess, I love that idea – I will have my people talk to your people! (I love that I can actually say that in an appropriate situation for once in my life, hahaha)

      • Aww, I’m honored, thanks! I was going to reply to your comments through email, but you are a no-reply blogger. You might google that term to learn more about it–I had no idea until someone told me I was. Basically when you comment on other’s blogs, they can’t respond to through email because your email address is hidden. Also, I wanted to share this great paper piecing resource someone recently shared with me: http://artisania.wordpress.com/tutorials/

Comments make my day!