Flashback

Ok, so I’ve made mention of a quilt I made long ago  in middle school.  Well, time at home made me sentimental, and it’s time to share this beauty.  In seventh grade I took a home economics elective where we learned all kinds of goodies – one of which was quilting.  Now, this wasn’t quilting with a rotary cutter and a sewing machine.  This was trace your shapes, then draw the quarter inch line with a quarter inch plastic stick.  On every.single.piece.  This was hand stitching.  Not that quilting today isn’t hard work, but I remember being 12 and thinking, “good God, I could never make a full sized quilt this way.”  However, my Gramma and mom were there every step of the way, double checking my stitching and encouraging me to finish.  I still remember picking out the fabric with my mother and gramma, and I’m sure they were intrigued, but not surprised by my choice of color scheme.  Without further ado, here is my real first quilt.

first quiltYou know you love this quilt.

My husband saw it and said:  Man, that looks like a Lisa Frank quilt.  What’s funnier – his comment, or that he knows Lisa Frank?

closeup

 The seal print was what inspired my color scheme – you can see that I loved bright colors from early on.  And while I wouldn’t necessarily choose these fabrics now, I love my 12 year old self for just going for it.  Plus, I love my Gramma and mom even more from not censoring me!  I also designed the overall layout and quilt design.  Looking over this quilt now, I am thankful that I have this memory of making a quilt, and that the process instilled in me an early appreciation for this art form.  I’m even more thankful that years later I have returned to this craft.   (I am even more thankful for rotary cutters and sewing machines.)

I can tell that my mom and Gramma were there helping me piece because I’m impressed with how my blocks turned out and that so many of my corners matched up.  I’m sure they did the majority of the ironing as well because I can’t imagine I enjoyed that any more then than I do now!

Here are a few of my favorite blocks:

DSC01133

DSC01135

DSC01134Those seals kill me.  I guess I understood fussy cutting, even then.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little flashback of mine.  You probably also appreciate how far I’ve come!  Just in case you were wondering, this quilt is tucked away in my mom’s hope chest.  Right where it belongs with all the other sentimental treasures.

12 thoughts on “Flashback

  1. I wish we had done stuff like qullting in my home ec for sewing. We just tie-dyed fabric and then made it into a pencil case… with velcro. Hardly exciting!

    The seals remind me of the fabric I would buy 10+ years ago for my mum. I always picked out brightly coloured, or weird fabric. She used a lot of them in a quilt she made for me.. maybe I should post a pic 🙂

    That rainbow fabric is something I wouldn’t mind now though! It would be great for a binding.

  2. Well, it’s awesome. When I was around that same age (I was homeschooled, ha) my mom and I made some cathedral window quilts. Mine is pillow sized and will be hanging on a wall in my sewing room, once I figure out where to put it! 🙂 I think the largest wall will be a wall of minis…which means I need to make more!

  3. Lolol it IS a Lisa Frank quilt! This is in your blood, Ashley, even this “juvenalia” is well done. Makes me look forward to helping my kid make her first quilt. 🙂

  4. Lol@your hubby! I’m really impressed that you were able to handstitch and have everything turn out so on point. I think I made a bear for my sister in middle school Home Ec… But we had sewing machines. I wonder if she still has it…

  5. Oh my goodness, this quilt is awesome!!! It reminds me of the 80s. Not sure if that’s when you took home ec, but I was totally wearing clothes back then that would have gone really well with this quilt! 😀

  6. Pingback: Summer Sewing | Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Comments make my day!

